friday five: books!

I haven’t done a Friday Five for a few weeks, but in trying to live up to my self-chosen nickname and blog name, I have done a couple of books posts; nevertheless, I can always write about books. This one comes from fellow book-lover (though I think that’s many of us) Jan:

I hope some of you received books for Christmas presents; I did and have been reading ever since. Then I discovered a new author from those recommendations that pop up on Amazon.com. Instead of buying those books, I’ve been checking them out at the library, which will not help Amazon’s future recommendations for me at all.

So tell us what you’re reading, what you would and would not recommend–five books or authors! And if you don’t want to do that freestyle, here are some questions:

1. What books have you recently read? Tell us your opinion of them.
I plan to keep a record of books I’m reading this year and a brief opinion of them on the Books 2011 tab on the blog. That said, as a result of a Friday Five at the end of last year, I read Laurie R. King’s Folly which I really liked and expect to read again before too long. I like thrillers the first time for the thrill, but one like that has so much in it to absorb, I like going through it a second time without that need to race through and find out what’s going on. I like taking time to savor it. I wasn’t as enchanted with Keeping Watch, but I did enjoy it. I just wouldn’t recommend it to someone who doesn’t like the thriller genre.

Sawyer and L'Engle... ::happy sigh::

2. What books are awaiting your available time to be read?
I have spent the last few years NOT gathering books to read, so right now, I am taking it one at a time. I don’t really have a stack waiting for me. I look forward to making a list today as I read the Friday Fives. I do think I am going to read through Madeleine L’Engle’s books for young people again this year. I just started A Wrinkle in Time and realized it’s been awhile. I also want to re-read the Narnia books soon.

See RevGalBookPals' sidebar

3. Have any books been recently recommended?
I have a one-sided game going with my pastor. Every few months when I’m looking for a book, I’ll think, I should ask Pastor for a book recommendation and then I wait and within a few days, without my saying anything, she suggests a book or asks me if I’ve read an author. Most recently, she handed me her copy of RevGal Jan Richardson‘s In the Sanctuary of Women to take a look at and said, “Do you know her work? You will like this.” I had been contemplating ordering it anyway, so I went home and clicked the button. I just started it. I’m looking forward to savoring (I need another word) it over the next few months. (I do wish I could have bought an electronic version, though.)

4. What genre of books are your favorite, along with some titles and/or authors you like best?
In high school and college I read a lot of science fiction and fantasy and I still enjoy it, but I haven’t really kept up with it. My go-to genre for pleasure reading since then has been the mystery, especially the cozy mystery. I like Nancy Atherton’s Aunt Dimity series a lot. I’m a huge Margaret Maron fan, both Deborah Knott (a Southern judge) and the earlier Sigrid Harald (A New York police woman) books. Deborah and Sigrid are going to meet in the next book which is a little contrived, but should be a lot of fun. I’ll also put in a word for Dorothy Sayers (especially the ones with Harriet Vane, and extra especially Gaudy Night) and Josephine Tey. Even though I study the Middle Ages, I actually have a preference for Tey’s Inspector Alan Grant novels over the Brother Cadfael ones, as enjoyable as the latter are.

5. What have you read lately that you have a strong urge to recommend? (or to condemn?)
Robert Farrar Capon, The Supper of the Lamb: A Culinary Reflection. I haven’t finished it yet. I’m… Wait for it… savoring it. But I am thoroughly enjoying it, and I keep thinking, “so and so would enjoy this” or “I want to read this part to such and such.” I don’t know that everyone would like it, but it really is delightful.

This entry was posted in About Me, Books, Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to friday five: books!

  1. Sharon says:

    Madeleine L’Engle is always worth a re-read. Thanks for that suggestion, and the others, too!

  2. Jan says:

    Thank you for all your recommendations. I have forgotten about your blog, and with your title, I know I should visit more often. I will in 2011! I like both Jan Richardson and Robert Farrar Capon; not having heard of these ones, I’ll be looking for them.

  3. Sandy Herren says:

    I had forgotten that I wanted to read Madeleine L’Engle. Thanks for the reminder!

  4. Barbara B. says:

    I had not heard of Capon’s “The Supper of the Lamb” … I will have to check it out!

  5. hotcup says:

    such savory reads! bwa haa haaa…
    i was thinking of ordering jan’s book myself.

  6. Diane Roth says:

    I have read many of Capon’s books, and enjoyed each one. This prompts me to go look for some more titles.

    And you know that I like L’engle. 🙂

  7. RevDrLaura says:

    Love those Madeleine L’Engles too….Do you know Sharan Newman’s medieval mysteries? Her heroine who begins as a novice at the Paraclete with Heloise, then leaves to marry and become a mom. They are even better than the Cadfaels, to me. The Sr. Frevisse mysteries, set in the time of Chaucer, are pretty good too.

  8. Becky says:

    I love Leonid Korogodski’s latest book titled, “Pink Noise: A Posthuman Tale.” The action scenes in Pink Noise are superb. The story’s second half unfolds so fast that it’s impossible to stop reading. I love the intelligent shapeshifting spaceships. I love the fights with Dragonclaws—this new kind of weapon is better than light sabers! And the epic battle at the end is really something.

  9. Terri says:

    I like Jan Richardson’s books, at least the one I have – it is a work of art as well as a wounderful reflection.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?