catching up

School started. We have a 4th grader who misses 3rd grade and a 2nd grader who wishes school didn’t exist. ::sigh::

I am teaching at one of the local community colleges. In some ways it is just fabulous, my best teaching since I taught high school, and I will post about that sometime. In other ways it is exhausting. I have am 8 a.m. class and a 3 p.m. class. As the woman who recommended me for the job said, “Worst schedule ever” except the other guy she recommended who has 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. But it’s only Mondays and Wednesdays, so that’s good. After getting mostly MWF classes in a program that *claimed* they equitably switched back and forth between T/TH and M/W/F classes, I feel so relieved every time Friday rolls around and I don’t have to teach. The kids are doing the after school program on Mondays and staying at the car pool house on Wednesdays. On Thursdays, I am picking up the Transitional Kindergarten carpool kid at 1:30 and the other kids at 2:45 and bringing them to my house. So we’re all working it out and balancing. It takes a village…

The students in my not-ready-for-freshman comp composition class are reading Zach Anner’s book If At Birth You Don’t Succeed for their required Reading course. Anner will be speaking at the school in October. I’m reading the book along with them and using it in the comp class and am quite delighted. I am trying to figure out how to help these students negotiate college. It seems that in the 7 years since ShyGuy was born and I stopped teaching regularly, much has changed in both students’ absolute refusal to be disconnected from their technology and how they view their role and the teacher’s role. This may be a steep learning curve.

Meanwhile, we are not heading to my cousin’s wedding this weekend even though we would very much like to be there because driving 10 hours either way on a weekend, even a long one, suddenly felt prohibitive. We will miss the family gathering and wish everyone well. We are grateful we got to see my aunt and her partner on their way to the gathering. Since we are not going north, it seems we are going to join Computerguy’s friends by actually camping (though just 1 night) at their annual Labor Day Weekend camping trip (we usually come up for 1 day). So. Camping. It sound tiring to me, but the family is excited, so there it is. (I might rather drive the 10 hours and stay in the house my folks rented, but that ship has sailed. Camping with the college friends it is!)

This entry was posted in About Me, Family, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to catching up

  1. Deanna says:

    Your closing statements are huge! I know I retired at the right time! Adjustments….continually…would have been too much! I thought I liked change. Hopefully the 2nd/4th will fare better after beginning routines and discipline ease up!🤔

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

