family moment

The kids do presentations more or less monthly. The 1st grader’s presentation this month was on a “family holiday tradition.” He decided to do Advent because “I get to eat candy.” (Every other kid did Christmas. My kid did Advent. I consider that a win, not that we’re keeping score.)

Since he needed at least 3 sentences, he thought he might mention lighting candles as well. (I might have suggested that.)

We have done minimal Christmas decorating this year (and every year) for various reasons, usually because we will be with the in-laws in Idaho on Christmas; this year because I’ve been teaching. (Also, Computerguy never did much decorating growing up because they always went to his grandparents, so it has been an uphill battle to make decorating our own home a Thing, and with either a church or academic life, I am really busy as Christmas comes, so I haven’t had the energy to make it a big thing without having a partnership on it. But with the kids, that could be different.)

So I bought a plain wreath and some candles (red were the only ones I found, but I’m okay with that) and put up a wreath so we could take a picture.

Meanwhile, the boy child puts on his pajamas and then says, “Superheroes wear their underwear on the outside” puts on a pair of underwear over his over-sized hand-me-down Christmas pajamas and says, “I’m Super Snow Man.”

Later, we are lighting the Advent candles, and I am taking photos so the boy child can paste one on his poster. All is well. Until Wordgirl says, “So he’s going to have his underwear on the outside on his school presentation?” Yeah. She doesn’t miss anything.

He takes off the extra underwear and we take another photo and all is well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to family moment

  1. gdn2008 says:

    Loved this!

    Dad

    “For there is one God, and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus;” 1 Timothy 2:5 KJV

    >

  2. Kathie says:

    Making me laugh and smile!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

