friday five: random

This Friday Five is from 3dogmom:

RevGals are adept at juggling and making do on the fly. In the spirit of the ability to multi-task, we’re pulling a random Friday Five out of the hat today.

What is your “gotta go!” breakfast that you can grab and take with you in the morning when you’re in a rush?

Leftover toasted pancake sandwich with cream cheese in the middle (if I have leftover pancakes). I think I like them better like this than I do on the first run. The edges are nicely crispy. If I don’t have pancakes, then a cherry greek yogurt. If I don’t have that, a fruit filled breakfast bar. If I don’t have that, I try to grab something, but may be out of luck.

Computer guy and the kids take cups of instant oatmeal with them every day to eat in the car on the way to school/work (he does morning drop off as school is only 5 minutes from his work and the timing (just barely) works out).

When was the last time you had a fun evening out, and what did you do?

Halloween and Trick or Treating I suppose. It was a good evening.

My last grown-up evening out, a couple weeks before, Computerguy and I had gotten a babysitter and gone to his best-friend-from-work’s retirement party, but CG was so nervous about a presentation he was doing and had stayed up so late preparing it, that the night was a little tense, and as soon as he had done the presentation, he way like, “okay, let’s go home.” OK. I told the babysitter we’d be late, but I guess not so much. (and they were his people not mine, and I am still and introvert and I’d had a chance to at least briefly catch up with the best-friends-daughter, so I wasn’t particularly disappointed to be leaving, it just wasn’t the evening I’d expected.)

Favorite poet or poem?

Today I’ll say Emily Dickinson and offer this well-worn favorite:

Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune without the words,
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard;
And sore must be the storm
That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm.

I’ve heard it in the chillest land,
And on the strangest sea;
Yet, never, in extremity,
It asked a crumb of me.

Who makes you laugh?

Computerguy. In writing he’s hilarious. (He doesn’t write long emails to me, but I get included occasionally, such as when he writes them about tech work he does for the church, and he continues to be hilarious.)

Where do you like to go for some “time apart,” in the way that Jesus took time apart?

I’d like to say the beach, but I never actually do that. It’s been fun going to retreat centers this year. Taking walks, but it’s been awhile. Sometimes I think I’m going to sit in the chapel at the church for awhile. I have lots of ideas. Now to do it…

Zephyr Point Presbyterian Conference Center

Zephyr Point Presbyterian Conference Center

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to friday five: random

  1. Elizabeth Nordquist says:

    Congratulations on staying up with the daily writing. No easy feat!

  2. Deanna says:

    You live life!

  3. Halloween and Trick or Treating were almost never my favorite – the weather was usually awful, the costumes often “bothered” the kids, and we never needed that much candy…..but sometimes it was fun, especially when the church we attended hosted a “haunted house” experience with candy and pizza – glad you had a good night of it!

  4. 3dogmom says:

    Sorry your adult night out wasn’t quite what you had hoped, and glad that your Halloween provided some fun. Great ED poem. Thanks for sharing that, and for playing this FF.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

