early morning quiet

I crashed early last night, so I awoke early, feeling rested, this morning. It will be a busy weekend, simply because it is Halloween and (for us) Reformation/All Saints/Pledge Consecration Sunday, though my part is minimal. The kids are going to be spies for Halloween, but they still need to finish creating the costumes.

Treo-700p-Apps-SI am sitting at my computer with eBay screens open, watching telephone auctions. My poor, battered little texting phone is becoming less and less reliable. I swapped out my smartphone (my beloved Palm Treo) for the texting phone 5 years ago when I purchased my first iPad because I didn’t want to pay for 2 data plans. Now I have my Mini iPad that makes a smartphone unnecessary, but it turns out that they aren’t making the kind of texting phone I want, and I can pay less each month for a smartphone plan with data than I am currently paying for my texting phone without. ::sigh::
And there would be some handy things ab2d5190ac6ffa86f652b8c1949bf54a2c.image.220x220out having a smart phone that was compatible with my computer and tablet. So I’m looking for a used one from the former generation. But it still feels excessive. (Also, I am struck that the Palm was only 5 years ago. Smart phones have come a crazy long way in 5 years.) Also, I am positive I will miss the physical qwerty keypad, but that’s what they just don’t make new any more. All the new simple phones have old style number-pad keypads. I never did get the hang of that.

So, I am watching an auction on which I am currently highest bidder. It’s a slightly nicer phone than I had really thought to get, but if I win the auction it will have been a good deal. Meanwhile, I have a second auction on the screen that ends one minute later. It’s the lowest model I would settle for, and if I lose auction 1 and jump on auction 2, I will pay considerably less. I am torn about which one I should have bid on first, but that’s a good thing. If I lose one, I won’t be sad. If I lose both, I won’t be sad, I think. There are many options.

I gave the midterm on Thursday, and, surprisingly, that means I have a lull in grading because it is a course-wide midterm and all the instructors will gather to grade them together. I am nervous about how my students did, about what that might say about my instruction.

On the other hand, I have never minded the exam grading days. When I was first teaching high school, we would give grade level prompts and then have a sub-day to gather and grade them. It was a chance to actually have conversation with colleagues, see what other people do, hear how it was going. This is a scarce commodity in teaching. We are all islands in our individual classrooms surrounded by students with very few chances to interact with one another. (Of course, in about 2 years, the district still made us give prompts, but they took away the grading days; we had to do it on our own time. I used to liken working at that place to “now make bricks but you have to gather your own straw.” They never took anything we were doing away; they just kept adding more. But that was a long time ago now. I have been gone almost twice as long as I was there.) This upcoming grading day will be the first time I have met any of my colleagues except the coordinator.

I was outbid on Phone 1. I am currently the highest bidder on phone 2 with 6 minutes left (things happen at the last minute) and the BoyChild is awake in my lap. The weekend has started!

This entry was posted in About Me, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to early morning quiet

  1. Deanna says:

    Seems like you did get it from our later conversation…#2 that is?

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

