friday five: hello/goodbye

janintx offers her farewell Friday Five. I glanced at it this morning, and though I have about 12 other things I could be doing, it has been in my head all day, so I’m going to see if I can do it before the kids get dropped off, and still put together a Target shoe rack.

Jan says:

This is the last Friday Five that I will host after some years of presenting the third Friday Five of each month. I was honored to be asked and am grateful for the times of inspiration and laughter from you RevGals who played!

Our lives entail many beginnings and endings of periods or chapters. We can look back and see where we said “Hello” and “Goodbye.” Today please look at those times in your life. Be original or play along with these five suggestions:

I am saying “Hello” and/or “Goodbye” to:

IMG_1603 IMG_1604book: Margaret Maron says her newest Deborah Knott book is the final one. So hello and goodbye to Deborah Knott. It’s been fun. And it was always Dwight. (I may wait awhile to read it, though. Spin out the joy.) Here is what Margaret says about this: http://www.meanderingsandmuses.com/2015/08/when-clock-strikes-midnight-by-margaret.html
(I started reading Maron books long before ebooks were my go-to. I have some of these in paperback and some ebooks. Someday I may finish one or the other collection, or just leave it in mixed formats!)

Also this week, a new Louise Penny book comes out. Hello Inspector Gamache!

habit or practice: I’m contemplating going back to morning journalling as a way to be intentional about the day.

idea: There is a discussion going on at the RevGal Facebook page about throwing out standing committees in a church and creating “Seasonal Teams” that would have intention, purpose, and End Dates! We have wondered aloud about something like this before and people dig in their heels (but our committee needs to continue as it is), but I wonder if there would be any traction to begin this discussion again.

NFF1526060Sfood: Alas, I believe it’s time to say goodbye to summer snacking. I did get some frozen Greek Yogurt dessert bars (think ice cream bar) that were a pretty big hit. The girl child is all about Salted Caramel and the boy likes anything lemon or lime (so he gets the fruit juice popsicles. He does not like ice cream.)

person: Between her vacation and mine, my colleague and I have not been in the office together for 5 weeks, and before that I was on limited summer vacation schedule. I’m looking forward to saying Hello this week. We do a lot of back-and-forth bouncing ideas off of each other in the office, and whatever I do is always better for having her input, so I’ve missed that and everything else. “Got a minute?”

I hope you will play today. If you do, please leave a link to your blog posting in the comments.

Thanks for a fun farewell friday five, Jan. I hope we’ll still “see” you around!

“Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.” ~Seneca

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to friday five: hello/goodbye

  1. Deanna says:

    And I have one of your Margaret Maron paperbacks to read……hope to get to it!

  2. How does it work? Does everyone respond to the same topics (habit, person, food, etc.), or did you choose those topics? Very interesting!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

