advent meditation time

The first year of Advent meditations I wrote two poems and posted the reflections to the website. Last year I wrote two poems, added prayers for each day and a household advent liturgy, and posted the blogs posts. This year, I had an active role in choosing our Advent meditation theme (God Came Down), recruiting writers, and editing the booklet (though the heavy lifting of that part goes to our church administrator) along with writing several pieces and a household Advent liturgy. I didn’t add prayers (I kind of ran out of time). Maybe I will as I post to the website, the task I am now beginning.

For now, I offer here as I offer there, a household Advent liturgy I wrote to complement the theme:

A Household Advent Liturgy

In the beginning was the Word,
and the Word was with God,
and the Word was God,
And the Word was life
and the life was the light of all people.

Candle One:
We light this candle and remember
the Light that came down
to shine in the darkness and bring love.
The darkness cannot overcome this light,
Jesus, the Light of the world.

Candle Two:
We light this candle and remember
the Light that came down
to shine in the darkness and bring joy.
The darkness cannot overcome this light,
Jesus, the Light of the world.

Candle Three:
We light this candle and remember
the Light that came down
to shine in the darkness and bring peace.
The darkness cannot overcome this light,
Jesus, the Light of the world.

Candle Four:
We light this candle and remember
the Light that came down
to shine in the darkness and bring life.
The darkness cannot overcome this light,
Jesus, the Light of the world.

Christmas Eve:
We light this candle and remember
the Light that came down
to shine in the darkness and bring light.
The darkness cannot overcome this light,
Jesus, the Light of the world.

This entry was posted in Church. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to advent meditation time

  1. deanna Long says:

    I love seeing your talents used to make Him come to life!

  2. Thank you! I plan to use this myself, if that is okay.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

