friday five: dress-up day

A whimsical Friday Five from Deb inspired by Halloweens past:

Soooo… Let YOUR inner whimsy fly! List five characters, creatures, things or feelings YOU’D like to do the next time you have the opportunity to be in costume. Will you be biblical, Disney, vegetable, or historical? Will you make a political statement or just live out a fantasy? do tell!

pac-peopleComputerguy is brilliant at the dress-up thing, so we’ve had a lot of fun with the kids and Halloween (and ourselves the one year we had an 80’s party to attend). This year Wordgirl wants to be “a teacher” and Shyguy wants to be Darth Maul. Huh.

CS-Lewiss-The-Lion-the-Wi-0061) I always wanted to dress up as Lucy from The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. (I think that one passed me by, but I guess I could dress as Lucy from The Last Battle now, though I’m kind of old for that, too.)

Professor-Mcgonagall-professor-mcgonagall-28961127-280-390 PSprout2/3) There is the part of me that wants to be Professor McGonagall, but I’m thinking I could pull off Professor Sprout a bit better.

jack & sally4) 20 years ago (20 years ago!) I saw The Nightmare before Christmas in the theater with a couple of friends. The next year we went to see it on the university campus (where I was no longer a student, but he still was). After that, we went to one or the other’s apartment or house, gathered friends, and watched it. Then I moved to Indiana, and lost that tradition. I showed it to the kids (and my spouse who had never watched it all the way through though he is a big Danny Elfman fan) last night. I was a little concerned that they wouldn’t be ready for it, that it might be a little scary, but I think it is so un-real, that it’s okay. Or something. Anyway, they liked it. So I’d love to have us dress as Jack and Sally.

renfaire5) A Shakespearean character? A Jane Austen character? A generic fantasy character? A Starfleet officer? So many possibilities, but I can’t think of another specific one. I think there are not enough opportunities for grown-ups to dress up in my world. I used to dress up for Halloween when I taught high school. I went to the Renaissance Faire in costume a few times, when it was local. There was that one party 8 or 9 years ago. At least according to the movies and books, Brits still have “Fancy Dress” (costume) parties more than we Yanks do. We tend to have relegated that to only Halloween and geek culture cosplay (I’m on the edge of geek culture, but haven’t done the convention thing. I think I’m too old–not that there aren’t people my age who do that, but for me, I’m too old). Maybe it’s time to do something about that, though. I wonder if other people would go along with it.

This entry was posted in About Me, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to friday five: dress-up day

  1. Deanna Long says:

    For trunk or treat at church tonight, our trunk will become a jungle with as many lions and monkeys we can find. Grandpa will wear the typical hat, boots, shorts and shirt, and i’ll wear orange, if not some leopard clothing.

  2. Deb says:

    You’re right — in the grown up world we don’t have as many opportunities. The last time I suggested a costume event, people groaned and said, “OH NO THAT’S SO MUCH WORK!” Really? REALLY?

    sigh…

    Ah well. We’ll keep the fun coming. 🙂

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

