midday monday musings

We went to our friends’ baby dedication and had lunch with the baby’s family yesterday. It was fine, but it made me appreciate my own church and the participatory nature of our more liturgical worship. Putting water on the baby’s head or not–I could argue either way–the thing we do that I really missed yesterday was to ask the congregation to vow that we, too, will love and nurture this child.

I was impressed by the ethnic diversity of the congregation. It’s a little Baptist church that has been around for a long time, though with contemporary worship. The Pastor–my friend–is a 40ish white guy with a wife and three kids. The worship band leader is Latino, and the other leader during the service was Middle Eastern. The congregation is similarly composed. All scripture and notes were posted in both English and Spanish, and they have an interpreter doing a simultaneous translation of the the service–heard through headsets–as it happens. I asked about music and my friend said once a month they sing all their songs in both English and Spanish. So they could work on that, I say, kind of amazed at what this little church in Upland, California is doing.

At the RevDoc’s suggestion, I am trying to write up the idea of the children’s bulletins I’ve been doing since summer for Reformed Worship magazine. It fits their shortest possible article length. I need to read them a little more to get a feel for the style. Right now it’s written pretty much like a blog post. If I decide not to send it or if they reject it, I’ll post it here.

We’re looking at Princess Leia and Darth Vader for Halloween this year. Some of us–the girl child and her mother–would like to see Leia and Luke for the thematic connection, but we’re letting the boy child choose for himself.

It’s time to head to the school to pick up Word Girl. Then library, grocery shopping, and homework. Yes, the boy child and I probably should have made it to the grocery store while it was just one child, but we were having a relaxing morning.

This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to midday monday musings

  1. deanna Long says:

    Ethnic church sounds unique. Two languages adds a difficulty.
    Halloween Costumes will be delightful, as always!
    We will be on a selfish cruise celebrating my day. Can’t do everything!

  2. If your church’s main magazine doesn’t take your article, don’t take that as the ultimate rejection. It also sounds like something “The Lutheran” would like. We should put together a list of all the magazines of all the mainstream denominations. It would be a different kind of writer’s list than the usual ones I see (who accepts subs electronically, in the summer, and so on).

    Of course, that list probably exists somewhere–although I haven’t seen it.

    Good luck, though. It’s good to have a more permanent record of church stuff that’s working.

  3. Silent says:

    I was going to say that I’d love to see the article about children’s bulletins either way. And since someone else suggested “The Lutheran,” maybe I’ll see it there! đŸ™‚

  4. Terri says:

    Baptism is a big deal in our church. I look forward to reading your article.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

