soccertime

soccerpractice

Friday Night Practice

We have officially joined the ranks of the soccer family. The girl child decided she wanted to play soccer this fall, and so we are. She’s U-8 which means they are 6 and 7-year-olds, have 5 players on a team, and there’s no official scorekeeping. Because there is no official scorekeeping, and they don’t move into play-offs, tournaments, etc., we were allowed to request Wordgirl be on the same team as Churchfriend. Because they were short of coaches, her mom ended up coaching. This makes it pretty easy on us, the organized sports novices. My brother did the requisite Little League T-Ball when we were little in Missouri. I played basketball in 8th and 9th grades. My cousins here in California all played soccer, and we’d go watch them. I’ve tried to get to at least one match a year for my good friends’ daughter.

I’m actually pretty excited. I love to watch soccer, especially women’s soccer. We learned about soccer when we lived in Taiwan (but only the boys got to play, and only the big kids). I remember a crowd gathered around our big B&W console TV watching a world cup match (circa ’82?). I don’t watch sports, but I try to catch the World Cup. As a teacher, my commitment to sports watching was girls’ soccer. Very few people came out to watch girls’ soccer, and some of my friendliest students were on the team, so it was kind of a stand (I’m going to show up for them), and they were good. So… I have no idea how far this will go, and we’re certainly not the kind of parents who are going to put sports’ pressure on our kids (Do you really want to play? Are you sure?), but we’re going to have fun doing it.

Meanwhile, I’m grateful for an 8:00 am game time because it’s HOT. Also, tomorrow is kick-off Sunday, and I have a lot to do yet today…

Ready to go!

This entry was posted in Family, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to soccertime

  1. Terri says:

    I loved it when my son played soccer, it was so much fun! Enjoy!!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

