the great convergence

Computerguy dubbed it “The Great Convergence.” It happened last in 2002, and will happen again in 2019. Every five or six (or eleven) years, my birthday falls on Mother’s day. Because of leap year, this is the first time it has happened since I’ve been a mother, but I’ve been warning CG it was coming (he says) since before we were even married. I had a simple request: Make me queen for the day. A couple days ago I let him off the hook and told him my expectations weren’t really out of proportion.

IMG_0002_2

One area with mostly goats and a couple pigs we could go inside. I forgot to take photos. Here they could feed the animals through the fence.

It’s been a lovely weekend, and it has pretty much centered around me. I went to a quiet day at the church yesterday morning which gave the other 3 a chance to make a cake (which was a “surprise” except Shyguy is 4 and surprises are SO EXCITING!!! “Mommy, we have a surprise for you! It’s for tomorrow! WordGirl and Daddy and I made it.” Also, I could smell the baked cake as soon as I walked in the door). Then we did the family trip to the local quaint area with the petting zoo and apple orchards. There was that moment when the woman taking money referred to me as the kids’ grandmother, but I’m trying not to let that color the whole weekend. The kids have grown up a lot since the last time we made that trip. Especially Wordgirl loved feeding the animals, even up close. Shyguy took his time, but eventually went in, though not without Daddy holding him. He did love feeding the squirrels that scampered on the paths outside the animal pens.

birthday

Evidently this is what 42 looks like. Who knew? (You can see my roots here, but they look more brown than gray in the photo–not sure how true that is in the mirror.)

Today was church and a lot of people wished me a happy birthday and Mother’s Day (and it was the RevDoc’s last Sunday before sabbatical–if I weren’t going to see her in the office this week, I might not have been sanguine about today) and then CG and the kids made brunch, we played some Wii, talked to moms, picked up Rubios, and went to Shakespeare in the Park: An all male cast of Taming of the Shrew (an all female Caesar is in the rotation). It was a good day.

My birthday is always near Mother’s Day. This weekend wasn’t really any different than any other birthday/Mother’s Day weekend, and it was fun.

This entry was posted in About Me, Family, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the great convergence

  1. Elizabeth Nordquist says:

    Happy Birthday, a day late! My husband’s birthday is tomorrow, so we always have to navigate the same dilemma depending on the year. Makes for a festival season—when added to graduations, weddings, anniversaries, Father’s Day., et al. May this be a blessed year of fresh grace, new courage, surprising discoveries!

    And may you find amazing gifts is this sabbatical season–in yourself and others!

    Peace and Joy!

    Elizabeth

  2. deanna Long says:

    You were a wonderful Mother’s Day gift to me….42 years ago….whether it was actually on Mother’s Day or not….your birth definitely flavored the season….and it was essential so you would be old enough to fly on the plane back to the states from Gitmo! And you were the summer sensation in Mason City and Southern California! Of course it was Andy’s first time exposure to the families too!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

