friday five: random

This week a random series of questions from revkjarla:

1. How are you doing? What’s going on in your life?

After teaching last quarter, and then Spring Break for the girl child, I am getting back into the routine. I am also being the car-pool/after-school-care mom for a couple of weeks, which is a new one for me.

2. Have you ever resigned from a position? What was the good-bye like?

I resigned from my high school teaching job to go to grad school at the end of 8 years. As soon as I handed in the letter, I became invisible. It was weird. The good-bye was pretty low-key, at the one restaurant I asked that it not be (please, let’s do anything but…) That kind of summed up how I was feeling about that place at that time. A couple friends from work took me out to a really nice dinner that went a long way to make up for that.

3. So, we are still resurrecting…still getting used to New Life!! What is a source of new life for you?

The church community. Just yesterday I had a young person we knew from church help us out of a minor sticky situation (Late to gymnastics. Not sure if WordGirl will get to go in. The gym owner’s daughter behind the desk knows us, not from the gym but from church, and says to my girl, “It’s okay, WordGirl. I’ll take care of it. Come with me.”), and it just filled me with joy. That’s one of the things it’s about.

4. My friend is running the marathon on Friday, because it is on her bucket list. What is something on your bucket list?

I don’t know that I have any specific thing I have to do before I die. Maybe I should think about it. Maybe I’m okay with the places I’ve been and things I’ve done. There are certainly things I am looking forward to like introducing my kids to Europe.

5. Tell us about one precious thing (tangible) you keep around your house, your altar, your pocket, and what is its story?

journalI don’t know that anything I have is irreplaceable, but this morning I’ll go with my journal cover. I bought it on a visit to the Renaissance Faire with college friends some 20 years ago. It represents a specific time and place for me, one to which I barely still have connections. My roommate and I each bought one, and I have used it ever since. (I wonder if she still uses hers?) Sometimes more often and sometimes less, but more or less regularly. I think about replacing it. I wouldn’t mind a smaller size I could throw into a bag more easily, but I don’t ever do it. The picture is Tristan and Isolde, not a story I have ever really connected with in any special way, though it fits the medieval literature I study, but it caught my attention that day, and I still think it’s beautiful. If I were to replace it, it would probably be with some sort of Celtic design rather than a narrative picture, but I am a narrative thinker, so maybe it is right.

This entry was posted in Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to friday five: random

  1. It’s also lovely for your kids to experience people they know from church outside of church, normalizes what can sometimes be an out of the ordinary experience. Beautiful journal book cover – and I love the story with it.

  2. deanna Long says:

    Carpool/After School Mom care is a new one for you! I’m sure you do it well!

  3. Karla Miller says:

    What a beautiful, beautiful journal cover! And how wonderful to be Church community outside the walls!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

