short sabbath

The RevDoc is heading on Sabbatical this summer, something I fully with all my heart support while loathing the actuality of it (3 months!!!), for my sake–not hers. In that vein, in church we have been talking about Sabbath practice. It occurred to me today that Computerguy introduced me a long time ago to a Sabbath practice, albeit a short one. He never does work on Friday evening. He may work all day Saturday and Sunday–at work or around the house–but not Friday night. As I am thinking about the quarter wrapping up and the amount of grading I have to do in the next week and a half, I am grateful for this practice. Tonight I will not work. Tomorrow, bring it on!

This entry was posted in Church. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to short sabbath

  1. Elizabeth Nordquist says:

    Just read Maryann McKibben Dana’s book Sabbath in the Suburbs. She would find your practice life appropriate. Rest in peace tonight.

    • bookgirl says:

      Thank you. I plan to. I loved that book. It could have been written for my family. It’s so rare in a Sabbath discussion for someone to acknowledge the difference of a Sabbath practice with small children–something I struggled with even in Susan Phillips wonderful talks 2 years ago at Companions. I gave the book to Sandy. (And I almost mentioned in the post, but it was not the topic at hand so I held it, that the highlight of the Sabbatical for me may be that you will be preaching for us, and I get to be your lector.)

      • Elizabeth Nordquist says:

        the pleasures will be all mine!! A bientot! (don’t know how to add accents!)

  2. deanna Long says:

    I had already decided to just relax tonight and get to the big organization tomorrow…How nice to read what you wrote. Makes it right for me!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

