pumpkin pie (from a pumpkin)

On Friday night, the girl child was at a sleepover birthday party, so the boy child was an only child. He came into the house about 4 in the afternoon carrying a pumpkin we had never carved at Halloween and said, “I want to make a pumpkin pie.” So we did.

IMG_1192

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We roasted the pumpkin. (Evidently he lost his pants between bringing in the pumpkin and it being roasted.)

IMG_1193

 

 

 

 

 

 

We made the filling (involving mixer AND blender). I had a roll-out pie crust on hand. I used to make pie crusts. Maybe I’ll try again some year, but not that night. Note, even with the perfectly circular roll-out crust, I manage to get it uneven. Imagine me starting with a ball o’ dough.

IMG_1195

 

 

 

 

 

 

We baked it.

IMG_1198

 

 

 

 

 

 

And we thoroughly enjoyed eating it.

IMG_1201

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The pumpkin made enough filling for a pie plus a crustless pudding thing. It was kind of fun, but a lot of work and a lot of dishes, and the canned pumpkin is maybe a little richer tasting, though it’s hard to pin down a difference.

So, I have now made a pie from a pumpkin. Not sure that was on my bucket list or anything, but it was interesting.

 

This entry was posted in Family, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to pumpkin pie (from a pumpkin)

  1. deanna Long says:

    I’ve never made one from a pumpkin! If Oliver brings it in, how can you resist! He loves that time! And Kendra loves her parties! And I missed out on Pumpkin pie! Love the explanation for loss of clothing.

  2. I’ve done that before too – and it is a lot of work. I also like to fill pumpkins with stuff – sausage and rice and veggies, and bake it – makes for a delicious fall dinner. Really fun that you did this with your son – what a great memory!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

