friday five: almost groundhog day edition

It’s been awhile since I’ve managed a Friday Five, and I’ve missed some good ones. I have about 10 minutes this morning. I’m going to see if I can do it. Probably means no photos.

The Reverend Pat Raube brings us this one:

I have to admit: I never thought much about Groundhog Day.

Then I saw that movie. And an odd holiday that seems to be a remnant of an obscure Pennsylvania German custom took on all sorts of new meaning.

So, in honor of the movie and the day, I present you with this Almost Groundhog Day Edition of the Friday Five!

1. The Holiday: On a scale of 1-5 (with 1 representing, “Hey! Stop hating on the most awesome season ever!” and 5 representing, “Green. NOW.”), how much are you hankering for spring? And what is, to you, a true sign that it is actually on its way?

Living in southern California, I kind of love these months. January through June, the weather is all over the place. Last year the girl child’s birthday was a beautiful February day and we had her party outside. Her two friends with March and April birthdays ended up inside on what were some of the only rainy days we had. I don’t know. Spring comes gradually, and I like it that way. My birthday is smack in the middle of Spring, and I like it that way.

2. The Film: Seen it? If yes, Love it? Hate it? Meh?

I kind of love the film.

3. The Meaning: If you could relive one day of your life, what one would it be?

This question made me think of Thornton Wilder’s Our Town, when Emily dies and asks to come back and relive a day. The stage manager tells her to choose an ordinary day, that it will be special enough, and a special day will be too overwhelming. She chooses a birthday. I’m thinking maybe the girl child’s third birthday, when the boy was already born, so they were both there, and we had a family celebration.

4. The Meaning, Part 2: If you had to relive one day of your life over and over until you got something right (a la the Bill Murray character in the film), what day would that be?

There is such a day. I learned from it, so that’s something. But it was supposed to be a FUN day, and, in the end, it was not. So it would be nice to be able to live it over again. I would start by trying to get enough sleep. It makes a difference.

5. The Meaning, Part 3: If you had to design a life-changing experience for a fairly despicable human being (as is, for example, the Bill Murray character at the film’s start), what would it be? How, given all sorts of unlikely powers to bend time and take control of another person’s personal growth, would you do it?

Some how, some way, show them the Light of Life at every moment they choose darkness.

This entry was posted in About Me, Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to friday five: almost groundhog day edition

  1. BookGirl, what a beautiful answer to #5: to show them the Light of Life… Yes.
    Thanks so much for playing!

  2. revtsb says:

    Re: #4 – I have a couple of those, too!

  3. deanna Long says:

    I like your method for bringing about change in a despicable person! The Light can do it!

  4. The ordinary is where so much of our lives are spent…and yet it is always extra-ordinary as well. Thanks for the thoughts.

  5. revalli says:

    Thanks, Wendy, for your thoughtful play. You reminded me of a beautiful Pasadena day when the air was particularly and unusually clear. Spring enfolded in a winter day.

  6. Wayne Stratz says:

    I too hold out hope that we can all be drawn by the light. Rock bottom was truly dark.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

