a cake, a film, and a walk down memory lane

The CakeI made a chocolate cake last night. From scratch. With sifted flour and buttermilk and boiling water for the cake and butter and powdered sugar in the frosting and Presbyterian Women’s equal trade baking cocoa in both. For the youth director’s birthday. I can’t believe I said I’d bake the cake. I don’t know what I was thinking. There are a lot of food things I do pretty well, and it will taste good I think–I know the frosting does–but it’s not pretty. I don’t have THAT knack. And since it’s chocolate, it’s just brown. And lopsided. I want to take a page from my daughter’s book and throw sprinkles on it. I don’t know. It’s just brown.

10 thingsWe are beginning The Taming of the Shrew this morning in my Shakespeare class. Did you know 10 Things I Hate About You is based on Taming of the Shrew? A student sent me that bit of intel in an email. A nice kid who was in my Romantics class last year. I like that a film that is almost 15 years old is still bandied about in high school/college. I am talking in the class about the darker side of Shakespeare’s comedies. That Heath Ledger played the Petruchio character and then died much too soon is not, I suppose, what I had in mind, but it makes that film poignant to me. I went to see it in the theater with my Tennessee roomie (whose name made the Allison Janney character’s name, Ms. Perky, that much funnier). Some of my students were in the same audience. It was a fun touchstone with my seniors for a couple of years. I wrote about it in my first grad class at Local University, and that paper/idea/research eventually became the starting point for my dissertation. So, yeah, I guess I did know that. But how would my student know any of that?

My day today: 8:00 class at the University; 10:00 staff meeting at the church + a few hours work there until time to pick up ShyGuy from the childcare center; pick up WordGirl from her friend’s house; make dinner; back to church to chair nurture committee meeting. Tomorrow: Catch up, grade reading journals.

This entry was posted in About Me, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a cake, a film, and a walk down memory lane

  1. Brittany says:

    Sprinkles always make cakes better. There are so many fun sprinkles out there now! 🙂

  2. Sprinkles do help, says me who has made many similar looking, albeit delicious tasting cakes.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

