8:00 classes

I have a confession to make. I actually like teaching at 8 a.m. (and by 8 or any other time I say, I mean XX:10–we go from 10 after the hour to the hour. MidWest University completely threw me by starting on the hour and going until 10 til, but I digress) or, when I was teaching composition, 7:00 a.m. I am teaching Shakespeare’s Comedies at the neighboring university this Winter. (I’ll write more about that soon. One day in, so far so good.) It was originally scheduled for 9:00, but I asked for 8 so I could get to 10:00 commitments on W and F at the church. No doubt about it, 9:00 is nice, and probably slightly less stressful in the morning, but there are a few advantages to 8.

8:00 classes force me to be completely ready for everything the night before: lesson planned, clothes put out, lunch in the fridge, etc.

The work day (at least that physical-on-campus part of it) can be over at 9.

There is no class the hour before in the room, so I can walk in and set up at my own pace, and be ready to go at 8:10. (This is a surprisingly big deal.)

The students are fresh, sleepy maybe, but mentally ready to go.

Parking is a piece of cake.

I don’t try to do a bunch of things before heading out. I’m more focused.

I like the early morning campus. Not too bustling yet.

Coffee!

The one thing that makes it possible is that Granddaddy Nanny has reclaimed his position, so I don’t have to get the kids ready to go. I make WordGirl’s lunch and set out clothes, but I get to leave the actual getting ready to someone else. If GDN weren’t here, it would be a world of difference. I’d be getting ShyGuy up and taking him to preschool early on my way to the university. Do-able, and lots of people do it, and it’s what I had expected to do, but I’m pretty grateful I don’t have to. So, Thanks Dad.

Disadvantages: Sleepy students, possible traffic for them and me, having to have everything prepped the night before.

I should mention that when I was an undergrad, I was all about not starting my day until 10 at earliest and 11 when possible. Some quarters I didn’t have anything before noon or 1:00. I gained my love/hate relationship with mornings when I was teaching high school and had to be on campus at 7:00 sharp, every day, 5 days a week, 185 days a year. I reverted some in grad school until the girl child was born, and since then I’ve pretty much gotten an early start to the day, and liked it. (gasp!)

This entry was posted in About Me, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 8:00 classes

  1. Deanna Long says:

    What a great explanation!

  2. L says:

    I hated teaching 7:30 classes at MidWest U and always got stuck with them, but the workday is “over” super early and that is no small compensation.

  3. I am usually up early enough to either be at church by 7am (for the 8am Sunday service) or exercise (most other days of the week)….and, although I would not want to teach a class at 8am, I do like having responsibilities like exercise done and over first thing in the morning. Sets the tone for the rest of the day. So – yay for you. (and how nice that you Dad can help).

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

