a conversation?

What does a conversation with someone one has never met look like in 2012?

I was reading Kristin’s post about Advent 2 at their church’s “Worship Together” service, and I asked in the comments if she knew what they would be doing for Advent 4. When I was first describing my project with church for this year, Kristin offered to talk with me about the hands-on worship thing, something her church has been doing. I’ve been wondering since then what such a conversation would be (And yes–it’s a conversation I’d love to have.) Do we phone each other? I’m decidedly not a phone person, but there is an immediacy to a spoken conversation that is helpful. Do we write a blog post and comment back and forth, welcoming anyone else who happens along into the conversation? Do we use some sort of instant message thing or Facebook? Do we skype? Or do we have an email conversation, probably the most comfortable method for me, but clumsy in the amount of time it takes to write a good email, and if it’s not what the other person is hoping for the time might feel wasted. What I want, of course, is to meet for a cup of coffee (or glass of wine) and pick her brain and brainstorm together. So… Can we have a virtual glass of wine? How do we do it? What do you think? (I’m specifically asking Kristin, but I’m curious if anyone else has thoughts on this. What works in this crazy world of ours?)

This entry was posted in About Me, Community. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a conversation?

  1. Terri says:

    I have a few phone conversations with people I blog with or FB with. I say a phone call – will be easier, more effective and personal. But if not that then a blog post so we can all learn about it. 🙂

  2. I do like the idea of a deeper conversation. I also like the idea of posting it on blogs so that others can benefit.

    I, too, am not a phone person, but once I’m talking on the phone, I often enjoy it more than I thought I would. I have only used Skype once or twice.

    Like you, I like e-mail, because I can be more thoughtful–another benefit, we could easily transfer an e-mail conversation, or parts of it, to our blogs. I also like that we have a record. Too often, I get off the phone or my dinner guest leaves, and I wish I could remember everything word for word.

    I’m not a huge Facebook fan, although I use it. It runs slowly and clunkily on my home computer, and I don’t care enough to figure out why. For me, Facebook is for keeping up with people’s daily lives and for links to other things to read. I’m part of a few Facebook groups and that application has some drawbacks; to me, the discussion feels shallow and not as easy to archive when it’s not shallow.

    I also wonder if this is a conversation that could widen up as we continue. Would we want to bring it to the RevGalsBlogPals site, for example?

    And of course, my brain immediately thinks even larger picture: Wendy, let’s cowrite a book! Let’s be editors and solicit essays! I like the permanence of a book.

    But my sensible side says, first things first. Since we’re both comfortable with e-mail, let’s start there. I’m also happy to include others. Shall we start soon?

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

