writers’ camp

Months ago, the RevDoc sent me a flyer for a writers’ conference at Zephyr Point Presbyterian Conference Center in Lake Tahoe featuring Marilyn Chandler McEntyre, whose book, Caring for Words in a Culture of Lies, I read last year. I sent my Indianapolis cousin an email with a link saying, “I’m seriously thinking about this. Want to come?”

Friday, my folks took the kids to Arizona. Today I packed up and headed North, ending up in Bishop, slightly more than half way. Tomorrow, I pick my cousin up from the Reno-Tahoe Intl. Airport, and we head to the conference. Amazing!

I find it strange to stay in motel rooms alone. I haven’t done it much. Not bad or anything. Just strange.

I like driving alone, though. After a couple of weeks with the kids and a great week of non-stop meeting up with people, I was ready for those hours alone in the car, just my iPod and me.

I have no idea what to expect. I’ve been to one Writers’ Retreat once. My mom and I went. It was led by Madeleine L’Engle. That was a highlight of my life. Yeah.

I do hear that the venue is gorgeous. My friend said, “The problem with Zephyr Point is that it is hard to concentrate because the scenery is so distracting.”

So I hope to do some writing and thinking and talking and hiking and chilling and praying and being.

I don’t know if I’ll be back to the blog this week.

This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to writers’ camp

  1. deanna Long says:

    That writer’s conference we shared was also a highlight of MY life. You KNEW Madeleine through her works, I was just beginning to appreciate what she was, and we had the opportunity to share her with a small group of writers. What joy! We are thoroughly enjoying the antics of our grandchildren. The elder suggested we go to the later service so she could go to Sunday School. Sounds good to us! They are both still sleeping and it is 7:15 A.M.

  2. Have a fabulous time! (Oh, and I actually enjoy being in a hotel room by myself…)

  3. Brittany says:

    Zephyr Point and South Lake Tahoe is one of my favorite places…ever! God and I have had many deep conversations on the rocks at Zeyphr. Enjoy the week and the morning cinnamon buns and afternoon coconut macaroons!

    • bookgirl says:

      The cinnamon buns might just be my undoing… Sat on a rock overlooking the lake to pray this morning. Yeah. Something about that.

      • Brittany says:

        Watch out for those rock prayers! 🙂 I speak from experience, they can be life changing. PS, perfect counter-act to the cinnamon buns are the stairs by the Tahoe center…if you haven’t found them yet.

  4. Joe Dalton says:

    We are excited to have you here this week, Bookgirl! And I’d take Brittany’s advice – especially about the macaroons. 😉 Should be a beautiful week…

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

