in love in the movies

“You don’t want to be in love. You want to be in love in the movies.” Rosie O’Donnell’s character says this to Meg Ryan’s character in Sleepless in Seattle. It’s one of my favorite lines ever.

My friend posted this piece by Linda Holmes about Nora Ephron on my FB page today. Like Holmes, I was exactly Ephron’s targeted audience. My friends and I were the single women waiting for “love in the movies” or something akin to it. Sleepless in Seattle and You’ve Got Mail remain two of my go-to movies. “I wanted it to be you.”

I also loved Ephron’s Huff Po essays. One of my favorites is “Deep Throat and Me.” It starts out like this:

For many years, I have lived with the secret of Deep Throat’s identity. It has been hell, and I have dealt with the situation by telling pretty much anyone who asked me, including total strangers, who Deep Throat was. Not for nothing is indiscretion my middle name.

She made me laugh. Every time.

She made me cry. Every time.

requiescat in pace, Nora Ephron

This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to in love in the movies

  1. deanna Long says:

    You are posting my favorite movies…and there are a few others.

  2. Terri says:

    Her book of reflections on aging is hilarious – something about her sagging neck – I love her writing and her movies. A brilliant, witty woman!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

