celebratory weekend

My mom was here for my birthday and mother’s day. It was good. We started celebrating by going out for brunch and a movie and shopping after dropping the kids off at preschool on Thursday. We saw The Hunger Games at my suggestion, second time for me, but first for my mom. I kind of wanted to see it again and I know she likes to be up on what people are discussing and my dad does not like movies like that.

Saturday was kind of a low-key birthday day. Schools in California are slowly moving to an August-May schedule, and the activity level in May is growing. We’ve been trying to schedule a Godly Play field trip, and the date we finally coordinated between ourselves and the other church has about 4 major conflicts, but enough of us can go that we’re going ahead (though one person will be meeting at 8:00 a.m. for the trip, rushing back so we don’t miss Youth Sunday at our church, attending a play in the afternoon, and having a final meeting for the year-long church formation group in the evening. Whew.). This is what one friend wrote back to the email I sent, “Just….OMG…I used to like May. Now it’s nothing but crazy—and worse than Christmas.” But I digress.

Anyway, I went to the seminary intern’s graduation in the morning (one of my friends: “I figure if BookGirl could go on her birthday, I could make the effort to come, too”), we did cake and presents in the afternoon (my mom made the cake; ComputerGuy and the kids decorated it), and in the evening we went to the nearby Shakespeare Festival performance of Two Gentlemen of Verona. Because the friends we were meeting are more friends-of-friends-who-happen-to-like-Shakespeare, we downplayed the birthday part while thoroughly enjoying the picnic, catching up, watching kids, seeing Shakespeare part. It was Piratized and musicalized and the girl child danced gleefully to every song. I love plays-in-the-park. So much freedom, both for the company and the audience.

Sunday I made breakfast–hey my mom was there; it didn’t occur to me until later that ComputerGuy might have wanted to do that. We went to church; I made lunch, and then we went out for a Chinese dinner. All in all a good day (and evidently it is all about the food.)

Last year, more elaborately celebrating my 40th, was a lot of fun, but I don’t know that it was more fun than this year. It doesn’t really get much better than this. Thanks Mom, CG, kids.

This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to celebratory weekend

  1. Dad says:

    Lovely.

  2. Deanna Long says:

    It was delightful! Loved how Kendra would come ask me questions about the characters in Two Gentlemen. I had told her the story and she does not forget the details! Oilver, newly potty trained, loved to exercise the adults with trips to the bathrooms.

  3. Terri says:

    sounds like a delightful weekend!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

