friday five: extreme random

My last post was a bit random and maybe more than a bit disjointed, so random seems about right for today. This comes from revkjarla at RevGals:

Hi there~~
Happy Friday to all of you.  Today’s Friday Five has no theme, other than randomness. 
That’s o.k., right? 
So, just to get to know each other a little bit (even more) here is the meme:

1.  What is the first thing that comes to your mind (right now) that you want to share about yourself.
I turn 41 tomorrow. (There must be more interesting things, but that’s what comes to mind.)

2.  What is your favorite piece of jewelry or accessory? Why?
I have a few significant pieces of jewelry, but right now I’m loving this cross. I bought it when I was in Boston a few weeks ago because I fell in love with it and because I thought it was nice that some of the proceeds went to fund homeless ministry. Later I learned that Harvard Grad’s fiance works with one of the ministries that gives the original bronze crosses to their congregants and I looked up the story of the cross and it all just kind of connected in a cool Holy Spirit kind of way. At least, that’s my story and I’m sticking with it.

3.  If you could have a starring role in a T.V. show/movie/series, which one would it be, and what would your character be like?
I want to direct a new series of Shakespeare adaptations with a “company” style cast. So that’s not really an answer to the question, but it’s what I’m thinking.

4.  What is one thing you will eat this weekend?
Angel food cake with icing (see last week’s Friday Five and my answer to #1).

5.  How do you waste time? (If you do, that is…)
Ummm… I think it would be purposeless websurfing/FB-ing.

This entry was posted in About Me, Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to friday five: extreme random

  1. Sharon says:

    Happy Birthday!! And so excited to look through Bookgirl’s Poetry Place :).

  2. Martha says:

    The homeless ministry here in Portland gives the wooden crosses away to the homeless and to volunteers. I always smile when I see one.

  3. Kathrynzj says:

    41 for me this month too!

  4. karla says:

    I have that cross, too! They don’t give the wooden ones to volunteers in Boston, tho…Happy Boofday!

  5. revalli says:

    Happy Birthday, Wendy! Glad to see that Ecclesia Cross on your website. One of the highlights of my ministry was presiding at Common Cathedral on Palm Sunday the spring I had no altar to call home. Homeless priest sharing the bread and the cup with others experiencing homelessness. It was a life changer.

    • bookgirl says:

      Thank you for sharing that. I am finding a new significance in the cross since wearing one that (a) people recognize as meaningful or (b) people find interesting and about which they ask.

  6. Deanna Long says:

    Yes, I’ve been looking at that cross. It is so intriguing, like embodying Jesus with the cross and like the wind..it is risen. Happy birthday dear daughter. You keep life very exciting! And of course the other 3 who dwell with you too!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

