poem in your pocket

Sometimes I think the National fill-in-the-blank Day/Week/Month thing has gotten out of hand. Really? National Pickle Day? But it does bring attention to things, and that can be a good thing. Especially when that thing is poetry. (Yes, I’m biased.)

April is National Poetry Month, something I haven’t done much with this year.

Today is National Poem in your Pocket Day.

Put a poem in your pocket and share it at any possible opportunity. There are even some events created for people to share their poems.

I don’t know how much opportunity I’ll have to pull a poem out of my pocket and read it today, so I’ll share one here (and I’ll put it in my pocket and see what happens).

This is from Hailstones and Halibut Bones by Mary O’Neill. In honor of my girl-child.

What Is Pink?

Pink is the color of a rose.
They come in other colors
But everyone knows
Pink is the mother-color of a rose.
Pink is a new baby,
The inside of a shell.
Pink is a cooked shrimp
And a canterbury bell.
Pink is peachbloom
Gauzy…frail
The wind’s exquisite
Wedding veil.
Pink is a bonbon,
Pink is a blush,
Some Easter bunnies
Are pink plush.
If you stand in an orchard
In the middle of Spring
And you don’t make a sound
You can hear pink sing,
A darling, whispery
Song of a thing.
Pink is the beautiful
Little sister of red
My teacher said,
And a ribbon girls tie
Round their head.
Pink is the sash
With the lovely fold
You’ll remember
When you’re old.
Pink is the flower
On a lady’s hat
That nods and bows
This way and that.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to poem in your pocket

  1. Terri says:

    I love poetry, been posting nothing but poetry/prayers on my blog most of April.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

