my winter’s tale

I got to teach Shakespeare this week. The Winter’s Tale. My choice. I am such a Shakespeare geek. I’ve been building up my geekiness all week as I went through the first 4 acts, but today, I just went with it. Act V of The Winter’s Tale is exquisite (but I would say that about much of Shakespeare). But it really is. I was reading out loud and talking through it. I was talking about Shakespeare as master craftsman and pointing to specific lines. I was giving my best “Shakespeare knew everything” spiel. There’s just something about it. I took so much time with the beginning of the act, I didn’t even get to push the resurrection aspects of the end as much as I’d planned. I hope the students get it. It was on the power point slide. I totally ran out of time! I did manage to slip in my Hermione slideshow at the very end of class, though. I found as many images of the Hermione statue scene as I could on-line just before class and threw them on the powerpoint. It was fun. I love having a “Smart” classroom.

I’m nearing the end of this class. I have loved it, but, wow, it’s been hard keeping up with everything (as my lack of blog posting shows). I will be so glad and so sad when the quarter ends. And I don’t know how I feel about that.

Hermione:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in About Me, Shakespeare. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to my winter’s tale

  1. deanna Long says:

    Would have loved to have been in that class. Very exciting!

  2. Terri says:

    Yes, sounds like an awesome class – cool that you got to do this.

  3. So happy for you….and I was wondering why you hadn’t been blogging as of late. Now I know why.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

