keeping track (of books)

I have never been good at keeping track of the books I’ve read/am reading. I’m a good reader. I do a lot of reading. Yet my lists of books don’t reflect that. And I’m not sure why this is.

I’ve been thinking about intentionality for this next year. I have a few different things coming up. I’d like to make my time count and not just let the days flit by.

Sometimes I surf the web when I would have previously been reading a book. I need to have books I’m reading, so that I will go to the book instead of the web.

On the other hand, I spend a lot of time reading blogs I’ve intentionally placed in my Reader list, very different from desperately checking websites to see if there is anything to read. I’ve wondered if I should drop the blogs so I can read more books, but I don’t think I will. Not yet, anyway. I think the blogs I read are worth reading, for me, anyway. And I don’t do news, so the blogs/that ubiquitous social networking site are where I get my news and commentary.

My “Books 2011” page is no different than any other system I’ve tried. I thought, I’ll list the books and write a couple sentences about each, how hard can that be? Too hard. If one looks at that page, it’s a really incomplete picture. So, I’ll probably try and go through and update that page, but I don’t think I’ll do a 2012 one. I may still try and keep track, but find a different means and not pressure myself to write about them. If something stands out to me, I’ll probably do a “what I’m reading” post. We’ll see.

This entry was posted in About Me, Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to keeping track (of books)

  1. Terri says:

    I have so little time for reading…and so little space in my brain for any more words…but I really miss reading…perhaps I can find the peace of mind this year to work and read…and, check put your list as a resource..

  2. I love your word for the year….intentionality!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

