hunger games follow-up

the second book in the trilogy

I’m almost 1/3 of the way through the final book, and I have been enjoying (if that’s the right word) them, though the middle and last one haven’t hooked me in quite the same way the first one did.

I want to follow-up on my last post by highlighting two comments that I thought added tremendously to the conversation. The first is from my friend Meg, one of the “people I trust” who recommended the books to me (and quite possibly the smartest person I know in real life). In her comment on my prior post she says,

I loved these books, and I’ve recommended them (though I’m not sure if I told you about them). I liked that the adolescent characters feel so real, and I love Collins’ critique of our reality-TV culture, in which we consume violence and drama and unhappiness at the expense of others, in the midst of our own wealth and comfort. I hope that young readers see that the “reality” we encounter on television is always staged, prepped, and edited. However, the concerns you mention here are key to my ambivalence about the approaching film. It is one thing (to me) to read about violence, and an entirely different thing to watch it on the screen. Moreover, I wonder if the ambivalence of the main character–for instance, her desire to survive vs. her desire to protect–can really be captured on film. Also (spoiler alert!) how do you show on screen a perfunctory kiss?

These are really good points, and the difference between what one can show on film and what one can portray in a book is one of the reasons that films, a fine form in their own right, rarely do justice to novel adaptations.

Terri writes a sermon for Advent 2b focusing on the Isaiah lectionary passage (Isaiah 40:1-11) in which she references my post on violence in media (and also Angry Birds. Well done!). She concludes with these words:

And so, perhaps it is less an issue of what books we read, music we listen too, movies we watch, or computer games we play, rather it is a matter of how we allow them to shape us – will be become insensitive and callous? Or will we understand more deeply and become more compassionate? Comfort, O comfort my people, says our God. Let us go and do likewise.

Yes! Thank you.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to hunger games follow-up

  1. Terri says:

    I agree, reading and watching are not the same…I loved the “The Girl with” series…when I read them, but they were quite violent…I think I want to see the movie version, but they may be difficult to watch…a curious blend of justice, compassion, and violence in those books…

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

