transitions

Transition 1) Squeak did not suddenly get glasses. They’re mine and they’re hardly a new thing in my life, but this pair is. Yep. I turned forty and, wham!, it happened. I started having to take my glasses off to read. A lot. Having spent most of my life simply grateful that my vision is correctable, this threw me as a sign that, yep, I really did turn forty, but the idea of transition lenses didn’t bother me at all. All my 9-year-old+ life, I have simply been grateful that my vision is fully correctable. I love my glasses. They’re like a miracle every morning. Okay–I might be less blasé if I had to switch to lined bifocals, but the lenses don’t look any different. In fact, no one has even noticed–or mentioned–that I have new glasses.

So, I finally got myself to the optometrist, got a new prescription, and sent for mail order glasses. I got slightly taller frames thinking I’d like the real estate for the transition. I don’t know if that’s necessary at all, but I don’t mind. I did first wear glasses in the 80s after all. (Computerguy, who didn’t get glasses until he was in college in the 90s, makes fun of my 80s frames he sees in photos.)

The transition lenses have surprised me in two ways. 1) even though I got the thinnest possible lenses–and paid pretty dearly for them, but I refuse to skimp on something I wear all my waking hours–they are a tiny bit heavy. I can feel them. I hope I’ll get used to it. Otherwise, I may need to get smaller frames. 2) Everything looks bigger. I’ve been wearing glasses for myopia since I was 9. They make things smaller. Reading glasses magnify. I don’t know if I’m seeing real sizes or magnified sizes, but things just seem oddly large and a whole lot clearer now.

In spite of #1 above, I love my new glasses. Everything is so clear. And I don’t have to take them off to read. Yay for technology!

Transition 2) Church. The AP has taken a solo pastor/head of staff position elsewhere. The email came to the congregation today. He leaves at the end of the year. He did this, at least in part, because every year at budget time, his position has been in question. Can we afford to be a two-pastor church? Every year we did it, but we have squeezed out spending in other areas so we could keep paying salaries. And that just has to be hard on a family, living in that uncertainty–warranted or not–year to year. So, I don’t know just what’s going to happen, but we probably won’t be looking for a full-time replacement.

As an elder/Session member, I’ve been working in Nurture (education+) which has been under the associate’s auspices, so I don’t really know what will happen there, how hands-on the RevDoc will be–certainly somewhat–, if we’ll look for a part time Christian Education person (or youth person, probably our biggest loss because that was more or less a one-man operation), or if it will pretty much be up to the lay leaders to make it work. Certainly the committee will need to ramp things up. But we kind of should have been doing that anyway.

So, we’ll see what happens. But I will say, a lot of things are a whole lot clearer now.

(And a final note: During dinner we had a serious conversation with Bubble about the AP and his family moving. His daughter is just two months younger and in preschool with Bubble. She sat quietly, inscrutably even, and let us have our say. We finished by asking if she had anything to ask or say. Her answer, “I don’t know why you’re telling me all this. AP’s daughter already told me in Preschool.” Alrighty then.)

This entry was posted in About Me, Church. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to transitions

  1. Deanna Long says:

    Amazing what kids know….but especially Kendra!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

