wednesday wanderings

I didn’t walk this morning. Or pray. I slept in instead.

Both kids are sick. Bubble has been home from preschool all week. Is it only Wednesday?

But… Computerguy has Friday off for Veteran’s Day. Yay for that!

My laptop is not working exactly as it should. I don’t know if upgrading the OS (I’m still on Tiger, about 4 major versions behind) will fix it or if there is a deeper problem and that would be a phenomenal waste of money.

In teaching the Feasting on the Word church school class, I seem to be tackling Matthew’s Jesus’ Eschatological discourse: bridesmaids last week, talents this week, sheep and goats next week. That’s the thing about the lectionary: one has to face what’s there. I’m doing a lot of wrestling.

Both the RevDoc and the AP ended up sitting in on the class last week. I felt like I was back in the high school classroom being observed even though I KNOW that wasn’t the point. Well, not precisely the point, anyway.

After teaching the bridesmaids in the ed hour, I read it again in church as lector. I KNEW that passage. I got a bit dramatic. I think it worked. But I kept thinking about the penultimate line, “But [the bridegroom] replied, ‘Truly I tell you, I do not know you’.” I tried it harsh and I tried it sad and I went with sad, but I’m still not sure what to do with that. Sad makes it more real somehow. Harsh could be mitigated as in this comment concerning the Master in the Parable of the Talents from Working Preacher: The master’s willingness to earn money at the expense of others challenges any allegorical interpretation of the parable that would directly correlate him with Jesus, who never acts in a manner to seek personal gain.

I’ve agreed to judge entries for the neighboring town’s PTA Reflections contest. Should be kind of fun. The theme is Diversity. I have one set of middle schoolers and one set of elementary schoolers. 

I need to get out of the house! 🙂 But it’s all good.

This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

