wednesday wanderings

I just got back from walking in the neighborhood. I love walking in the neighborhood. It makes me feel connected.

Busy church week. Circle last night. Session tonight. Special committee meeting to plan Advent kick-off program tomorrow night.

I’m currently teaching a Lectionary-based adult church school class from the Feasting on the Word people. I felt a little out of my depth last week. I need to make sure I’ve really done my prep.

Family stuff going on this weekend. There’s a second hike for my cousin’s ashes. This time it’s local and will include more friends. We’ll be adding J’s ashes to my Uncle’s under a tree on Mt. Baldy. It’s on Saturday which is also my mom’s birthday. My dad is already here; Mom flies in tomorrow, and my aunt and her partner will be coming Friday and staying Friday and saturday nights with us. Full house!

I’m finishing the book Caring for Words in a Culture of Lies by Marilyn Chandler McEntyre. I’ll write more about it soon, but, wow! I think she wrote it just for me. 🙂

I’m going to be teaching a class on Medieval and Renaissance Romances at the university in the winter quarter. I’m trying to slip this in here as if it’s not a big deal because it’s just one class one time as a lecturer, but to me it’s a Really. Big. deal. It also means I have A LOT of prep work to do before the course even starts, re-reading texts and planning a syllabus, but it’s fun work.

I’m terribly excited about Joss Whedon’s “Stealth Shakespeare” project: Much Ado Website.

I’m off to pick up the girl child and take her shopping because she wants to “buy a present for grandma’s birthday myself.”

my mom and her siblings at my uncle's ashes circa 2001

This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to wednesday wanderings

  1. I hope you’ll write about your experiences teaching as you have them. My happiest teaching memories . . . well, there are so many. But I absolutely LOVED teaching upper level classes in 19th century British Lit to English majors for the 2 years that I did it as an adjunct. Heavenly to teach the literature of my grad school studies to students who loved it as much as I did.

    I look forward to vicarious adventures in Medieval and Renaissance Romances!

  2. quackademic says:

    Congratulations on teaching next semester! I am so excited for you. 🙂

  3. Terri says:

    Yes, I’m really excited that your will be teaching! Good news. Also, I hope your family time, and remembering your cousin, is wonderful

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

