friday five: the season you’re in

KathrynZJ brings us this week’s Friday Five:

Headquarters for me is the northeast of the United States. Here school is getting back in session, the tease of autumn is in the air (or the hope for the tease of autumn is in the air) and church life is gearing up to full throttle.

One thing I’ve learned with blogging and social media is that the where I live is not necessarily where you live. And so I want to know what September means to you, in your place of the world and time in your life.

This week’s Friday Five is:
What are 5 things that the beginning of September mean to you?
Bonus: What’s one thing you could do without?

I almost didn’t go here because it could turn in to something of a whine fest, but I’ll see what I can do without being too whiny.

So… What does September mean in my place in the world and my time in life.

1) Labor Day: Computerguy’s friends go camping over Labor Day weekend. So far, we’ve done day trips or single overnights. That’s not changing this year. We plan to go up Saturday for the day.

2) School Starts: In this time in my life, I should be looking at this as a treat. School’s starting, and for the first (for me) and I suppose last (for Bubble at least) time, that means nothing. We have no supplies to buy or classrooms to check out or plans to make or homework to do. Heh.

3) The Church Program Year: This actually means something this year. I’m kind of diving in and not coming up until Advent. I’m lectoring on kick-off Sunday as the first player in our new, intentional lector program. I’m teaching the first three week unit with the kids and then it’s six or seven weeks (I need the dates, and I’m really hoping they don’t overlap) of adult church school teaching.

4) Summer: Here in So Cal, September is just straight out summer. It’s usually not quite as bad as August, but things don’t really cool down until late October. While the heat can be frustrating, it also means we tend to have some end-of-summer fun like cook-outs and picnics and last minute beach trips, and so on.

5) Birthdays: This is a shout out to my Illinois Roommate and to her blond-haired blue-eyed baby girl (who will be turning 4!).

Bonus: Something I could do without? Oh, yeah. Unemployment. 🙂 (I really want to be gearing up for the start of the school year. I’m fighting the September blues…)

This entry was posted in About Me, Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to friday five: the season you’re in

  1. quackademic says:

    The September blues are rough–hugs to you!

  2. kathrynzj says:

    Hang in there and thank you for playing.

  3. Jan says:

    Take care and good luck!

  4. You are too sweet with the birthday shout out.
    And no doubt it is hard not being in “school” but do enjoy this year with Bubble.

  5. Terri says:

    I hope you enjoy the leadership role/ congregation teaching!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

