kitchen sink

My friend (can’t remember specifically who, but it might have been the Unlikely Academic) calls this kind of blog a “Kitchen Sink” blog because I talk about “everything except the kitchen sink and sometimes that.” I call it a “life and time of…” blog and at worst the whole enterprise strikes me as being narcissistic and at best I think it’s a better way of writing letters* to my friends old and new in-real-life and in-the-virtual-world. I’ve wondered sometimes if that was my best choice–it is, after all, passé, and sometimes I have to think about my audience and just what I am saying–but it is what it is, and I don’t think I’m going to change that. And, honestly, I do have a readership of some sort and I don’t really want to start over.

*(I always struggled with letters because after the “Hi. How are you? I’m fine.” part, they became, well, here’s what’s happening in MY life. Fascinating, isn’t it? Now I write the same for anyone who might wander by.)

I have another blog that is, at this moment, blank. I claimed it when I started playing with WordPress to see if the mode was workable for a new church website. It was never intended to be used as such in the long run. In the short run, I set it to private and played with it one afternoon, showed the committee the kind of thing that could be done, and the AP took the idea and ran with it, eventually setting what he had done with the church domain.

I claimed it with my name so that if I ever wanted the WP url with my name, it was mine. So now I’m pondering what to do with it. I’ve thought about making it the look-at-my-cute-kids blog and sending my in-laws and other family and friends the link, but I’m still not sure I want my real name attached to photos of them. Last month I was pondering a photo-a-day site, but we can see how far I’ve gotten with that. This week I am pondering a faith and literature site wherein I would write about poems/plays/fiction/Scripture and faith. Since last fall when Mary Oliver poems started popping up everywhere in my life and then I started reading Kristin Berkey-Abbott’s blogs and she pointed to additional poets and then recently I started using Sarah Arthur’s book for my morning prayer time, I’ve been drawn to the intersections of faith and literature and to contemporary poets, something I kind of lost track of during that whole intense dissertation writing thing.

So I don’t really know if I’m going to go there or not, but I’m pondering it.

Or maybe I should discipline myself to make that a weekly feature on this blog. Hmmm…

This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to kitchen sink

  1. Leslie says:

    Kitchen sink post…not one of mine, but a good and useful phrase. I start and delete blogs frequently. I’ve yet to hit on what I want the second and more personal one to be, but it’s good to try new things, test run concepts. What’s there to loose? Good luck with whatever you choose to do with your namesake blog.

  2. Leslie says:

    *lose 🙂 I wonder if that was some kind of Freudian slip…

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

