friday five: decisions, decisions (deja vu edition)

This comes from pinch hitter Sharon at RevGalBlogPals:

Today we play off of one of my favorite and most memorable Friday Fives to blog from: Decisions, Decisions posted by Songbird last July 23 [I played that one, too–BG].  I went back to that post to make sure I had new choices for you to make.  I found out — again — that she was then, as I have been recently, in the midst of a discernment process and thinking about what goes into decision making.
A decision from history:  There is a chair that still sits in the Assembly Room of the Pennsylvania State House (Independence Hall). Legend has it that it was George Washington’s chair, the back carved with a half sun.  Benjamin Franklin would look at it and wonder whether it was a rising or a setting sun.  Eventually Franklin decided it was the hopeful symbol of the rising sun, a sign of the future of our new republic.
How do you decide? Check out the following pairs and tell which one of each appeals to you most:
1) Sunrise or Sunset: Sunrise
2) To the Mountains or To the Beach: Beach
3) Coffee or Tea: Coffee
4) Advent or Lent: Advent
5) “Raindrops on Roses” or “Whiskers on Kittens“: Brown Paper Packages Tied up with Strings (but, of the two, Raindrops on Roses.)
BONUS:  Tell more about one of the pairs.  Why did you choose it?  Difficult or easy choice?  A story from your own experience?
These were all really hard decisions. I love them all. I could drone on about each of these pairs. I’ll talk about coffee/tea, though, just because it’s fun.

My Hot Beverage Corner

People KNOW about my coffee thing. Hot Coffee–not an iced coffee person (I like the blended drinks, but they’re dangerous. In my less healthful days, I loved me a Cappuccino Blast from 31 Flavors). Anyway, coffee is my indulgence. I have a cappuccino maker and sugar free syrups and when I need a pick-me-up or a sweet treat, a Black Forest Latte (chocolate cherry) is my beverage of choice. I can also meet up for coffee anytime anywhere (even when it’s hot) and love sharing coffee with friends. (In fact, it still frustrates me that Computerguy won’t drink coffee. I would love to share it with him.) These days I start my day with brewed coffee (it makes itself in the wee hours of the morning–the latte takes time) and then have a latte sometime later in the day. So. Coffee. Yeah.
But…
Then there’s tea. I didn’t start drinking coffee until AFTER college. (My caffeine of choice for long nights of paper writing was Dr. Pepper.) I’ve been drinking tea my whole life. As long as I can remember, really (we did, after all, live in Japan when I was age 3 and 4). I like coffee with sweet breakfasts, but an egg breakfast isn’t quite complete for me without a cup of tea. Once I finish my coffee in the mornings, I often switch to tea. I make large cup or small pot of hot tea in winter and iced tea in summer. If we’re having asian food, I often make a pot of tea. And then there’s enjoying Afternoon Tea with a friend. But that’s a whole other indulgence.
So…
Coffee wins at this juncture in my life, but I’d really hate to give up either one.
This entry was posted in About Me, Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to friday five: decisions, decisions (deja vu edition)

  1. That was my hardest choice too! My Southern roots brought me the pleasures of sweet tea with lemon and mint, which I love to this day. I don’t like iced coffee either! Thanks for playing!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

