friday five: my name spells gratitude

From Jan at the RevGalBlogPals:

A wise person once told me to make an ABC list of things I am grateful for any time I feel sad or depressed. It is a good practice when one is feeling happier than that, too. So for this Friday Five, I suggest that you use your name or nickname of about five letters and express your gratitude about something that starts with each letter. Some people have longer names, so you decide how you will go about this! (Last names, middle names, and nicknames count!)

Water: Swimming in it, drinking it, watching it fall from the sky. Amazing!

Earth: What a world we have.

Narnia: I love Narnia. I love that there was this world one could step in to through the wardrobe. I love that the main character was a girl (I loved that intrinsically when I was a girl and I love it even more, now–though I also now get the Susan issue–sometimes we learn too much, I think). And I will let it stand for all the imaginary worlds I have stepped in to through books, even the ones that resemble our own world, but are peopled with imaginary friends. (And, given today’s big movie premiere, would there be a Hogwarts without a Narnia? Rhetorical question.)

Daughter: She is amazing. What a gift. (I’m grateful for the son, too, but I couldn’t make the letters work. Bookgirl would have given me both of them because they’re Team OK! and the four of us are just a little WaKKO.)

Yearning: While I truly believe we should be grateful for what is, I am also grateful that we are built to yearn for God (Thanks, Jan), yearn for What is More…

This entry was posted in About Me, Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to friday five: my name spells gratitude

  1. sally says:

    love that you thought of yearning! Much more profound than yellow!

  2. Purple says:

    Fabulous play.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

