who is a friend?

I read this blog post (about the post author’s friend surviving cancer) on my Google Reader feed. On my reader, the blog is called “misc.” and the author is “t.t.”And I thought, well, that’s really wonderful. I didn’t recognize the blog and I figured it was someone I had pulled off of the RevGal site who didn’t post very often, so I didn’t really know much about her, or have any sense of who she was. Then I saw the next post on the blog linked on that ubiquitous social networking site and I realized the author of the post was a friend In Real Life. Huh.

So I’m thinking about friends and acquaintances and old friends and new friends and physical friends and virtual friends and Friends I Miss While They Are Away (even though their virtual presence continues and has, in fact, picked up) and I’m not sure where I’m going with it, but there it is.

This entry was posted in About Me, Community. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to who is a friend?

  1. Leslie says:

    The lines of friends and acquaintances and online buddies blur a lot these days, don’t they? For the most part, I think that’s a good thing. I’ve seen several work/school acquaintances convert to online connections because of various logistical circumstances. And once in a while, the online interaction goes all alchemical and upgrades the simple acquaintanceship into what I think of as an actual friendship…including, I think, in our own case. And I call that a win. 🙂

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

