metablogging

This seems to be a time to reflect about blogging. Bloggers I read are quitting or changing or thinking about quitting or changing. The RevGal Friday Five this week was a look back to the beginnings and a look at how blogging habits have changed.

My introduction to blogging was harsh. It completely turned me off. It was May of 2003. I was insulted on a blog before I even knew what a blog was. And the over-eager folks who were introducing us to blogs and suggesting we use them in the composition classroom didn’t really slow down to just introduce us to the concept of blogs. So I was left slightly mystified and terribly hurt and I didn’t really get back to blogs–reading or writing–until well after they had become passé. (I also switched schools the next year and the technological emphases changed.)

Perhaps because of that introduction to blogging, or perhaps just because of the nature of who I am, I’ve tried to be pretty careful with my blog. I’ve tried to not make it a ranting space. I haven’t always succeeded, but I think I’ve done okay more or less. At the very least, I don’t think I’ve insulted anyone and then told them to go look at my blog. 🙂

Sometimes, though, I think I’m so careful I’m bland. And I’m tired of that. So this is fair warning. I might be just a tiny bit edgier. I might, more often, own up to what I really think. Or I might not. We’ll see. But I have at least one post I think I have to write that confronts an article a friend has twice posted on that ubiquitous social network. At least I do if I get a quiet couple of hours to really try to put into words what I think. (Here I’d like to thank Quackademic for her very thoughtful response the last time I referred to this kind of thinking about blogging.)

That’s my last issue. Real blogging takes thinking time and writing time and I’ve had very little of that lately. But things are rattling in my head and this is one place I work them out.

This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to metablogging

  1. quackademic says:

    I had a similar experience with online teaching (using MOOs of all things). And a similar experience once I started blogging…genre, audience, and purpose get so muddled already, and then we toss pedagogy in! 🙂

    I like your blog as it is already, but I’m excited to see as it develops!

  2. Leslie says:

    Edginess! I’ll be sure to stay tuned!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

