graduation preparation: the diss

I was a little slow getting the dissertation bound (one no longer has to give a copy to the school; they’ve gone solely electronic, so this is just for me), but I received my copies just in time for the big day.

Also: gown (generously passed on to me by a friend who graduated last year) is dry-cleaned and waiting; italian beef sandwich meat is in the slow cooker; fruits and veggies are cleaned and prepped; house is cleanish (as good as it gets); etc. I think we’re good to go.

Now, to set the alarm so we can get the whole family to campus by 6:45 a.m. in the morning!

This entry was posted in About Me, Graduate School. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to graduation preparation: the diss

  1. nicolajames says:

    That’s a seriously impressive looking tome. ๐Ÿ™‚

    We were actually warned by our uni that unless we submitted two bound copies, it would be an automatic fail. Any unbound work would be automatically discarded. And while I thought that was a tad harsh, I didn’t think it would be wise to call their bluff. A few brave (stupid?) people did and they did indeed receive a fail. There was an appeal of course, though I don’t know what the outcome was.

    I can’t say I’ve ever been a fan of jumping through hoops, but I definitely wasn’t going to risk my degree on something as trivial as dissertation binding.

  2. What fun! What’s the title of your dissertation? And what’s the subject? Since I’m just getting acquainted, I don’t even know which doctorate you got. Or which school you attended.

    • bookgirl says:

      A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Cinema: Shakespeare’s Comedies in Film and Television

      I think the topic is pretty self-explanatory from the title. ๐Ÿ™‚ I did both traditional versions and modernizations; British and American.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

