preschool

First Day Slideshow

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Bubble started preschool two weeks ago. I know–the beginning of May. It was an odd time to start, but we were all ready. I meant to do it months ago, but sometimes I need a little nudging to actually do things I intend to do. (So, um, thanks for the nudge…)

It turns out I’m pretty lousy at seeking out things like play dates and mommy and me groups. We did about six weeks of a toddler group at the library and got to story time a few times and she’s been going to Sunday School this year, but this introverted mom has not made socialization a priority, so I really did want her to do some preschool before kindergarten (she still has a year) just for socialization purposes. It’s at our church (which makes me comfortable) and her dad drops her off on the way to work T/W/Th. Squeak and I pick her up mid-afternoon. It seems to be going well. I wasn’t sure, though she seemed happy enough and said she wanted to keep going, and then her dad asked what she liked best and she answered, “There’s so much I can’t choose.” Well, there you go. I think she likes it.

Meanwhile Squeak is getting some much needed attention and Mom is able to take a breath and go out and about a bit. I don’t get much more done at home except when I’m really intentional about it because Squeak, given the opportunity, takes my attention, but just going to the grocery store is so much easier with 1 than 2.  Also, when Squeak naps, I get actual me time. When Bubble was home, that was one-on-one time with her, time I love (time for books and games), but definitely on time. Down time is great!

So if you count Bubble loving it and Mom loving the time and Squeak getting his own time and Dad having one-on-one driving time and the church having one more enrollee, it’s pretty much a win-win-win-win-win situation. Woo-hoo!

This entry was posted in About Me, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to preschool

  1. deanna Long says:

    Wonderful wins!

  2. I’m so glad she is enjoying it. Socialization prior to Kindergarten seems to be expected these days. I was surprised when Sofia’s teacher commented that Sofia “has socially adjusted very well to Kindergarten even though she didn’t attend preschool.”

    • bookgirl says:

      I thought about you when I said I wanted K2 to have socialization experience, but you always gave Sofia lots of experiences with other kids. Me, not so much. (Actually, I’m in awe of you because you are such a gracious stay-at-home mom and I’m not. :))

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?