40: it’s just a number

Today is my birthday.

I didn’t think turning forty would bother me, and it doesn’t really, but it has given me pause.

I suppose it is an opportunity to “take stock” and think about my life, but I’ve kind of been doing that ad nauseam since I finished my Ph.D., so I think I’ll give it a rest.

I am glad that I am really celebrating, that I didn’t just let this one slide away from me into the mundane. Today is family-and-friends-and-food day. I made cinnamon rolls for breakfast. My dad, Squeak, and I will head to the airport in a bit, pick up my mom, and go to lunch. I’ll have a glass of wine with a new friend before dinner (and doesn’t that sound grown-up?). Finally, the whole family will pick Computerguy up from work and meet my old friends-who-are-family* for dinner at Logan’s Roadhouse (where they have great drinks (those signature teas!!), but I’ll resist because my friends are teetotalers, and while there is no pretense that we are too, and it would not be an issue, I just don’t feel the need to go there, especially with their kids present. I don’t have anything to prove with these folks; there’s just a time and place for everything.)

So it’s a nice day of celebrating throughout. Then, for the pièce de résistance, my folks are staying with the kids and CG and I head tomorrow morning to Santa Barbara for the weekend. So that makes it extra special. And I’m doing something I have long wanted to do, and am doing during my fortieth birthday weekend, in honor of getting my Ph.D., but I’ll talk more about that when it’s done and I can’t take it back. (?)

So… a good day, a new decade, a sabbath weekend to savor, and then back to the every-day, and, right now, that’s not a bad thing at all. Thanks be to God for this year, for friends new and old, for the journey.

*My friends-who-are-family: When we were in college–and we all went to the same public university–we used to refer to fellow Christians as “Fish People” as in, “That professor, it turns out he’s a fish person.” It comes from the ichthus symbol. Anyway, I think I’ll start calling them the Fish family. Mr. Fish and I met in the college ministry and he brought in she-who-would-become Mrs. Fish. They were the best people I know for including me–completely unawkwardly–when they were married and I was still single. I was in their wedding; their daughter was my flower girl in my wedding. We saw each other’s babies in the hospital, call each other when something-big-happens, go to soccer games, baptisms, and other events, and try to just get together at least occasionally. Of all my old friends, they are probably the ones with whom we have best mutually kept up the relationship, and I appreciate them.

This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 40: it’s just a number

  1. quackademic says:

    What a great way to celebrate all around! And now my imagination is busy trying to figure out your mystery goal (or whatever I should call it). A tattoo? A nose ring? Shaving your head to cut back on AC bill? Hmmm….have a wonderful weekend with your hubby!

  2. Elizabeth Nordquist says:

    Happy Birthday, Wendy! it was so much fun to meet you and Keven there amongst the wind and the jade. I hope you did all you hoped while you were there. We were only there one night, but had a lovely time. I came home to discover I have to report for jury duty downtown in the morning! Good Grief! My best wishes for this new decade of life: my 40s were memorable, adventuresome and important. I pray the same for you!

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

