the women

Like several others I have read, I find myself thinking about the women in the story on this Good Friday.

[not entirely pertinent observation from my life: I linked Kristin Berkey-Abbott’s Jane Eyre post on that ubiquitous social network today and named the students whom I had taught in AP English and who are my FB friends. It turned out to be a list of ten women and one gay man. I have almost exclusively let former students friend me; I don’t want to be creepy, stalking teacher, and I do have other guy students who are my friends, but none from the AP classes. Those classes did tend to be heavily skewed toward women students, but I think I may have been a little hard on the guys in them, making them pay for the crimes of an “Old Boys Network” that was still very much in play at the school, but of which they, boys taking AP English, mostly, weren’t a part. So…]

But I always think about the women. A few years ago (Okay–more than a few, over a decade) a friend was in a play called The Lower Room. She played Salome (mother of James and John–not daughter of Herodias) and was kind of annoyed with the pushy, Jewish mother character. The play purported to tell the story of the Last Supper from the perspective of the women who were, in this scenario, gathered in the lower room serving Jesus and the apostles. Hmmm. Maybe. Maybe they were the ones who prepared and served, these women who followed Jesus and financed his ministry, these women who remained at the cross and went to the tomb. Or maybe there’s more to the story.

So here are the posts that have moved me this morning:

In the post that got me started thinking about this, Martha Spong (Songbird) at Reflectionary wonders about The Women.

Jan Richardson has been writing about the women this week at her Sanctuary of Women blog. Last Sunday, my pastor pointed me to the Palm Sunday entry and I read it distractedly and thought, “hmm, that’s nice, I’ll get back to that.” Today, I got back to it. I took a quiet moment and read all of the Holy Week entries. It’s definitely worth doing, but the two that stood out for me were that Palm Sunday one and the next one, Monday of Holy Week. Wow.

At the end of her Palm Sunday reflection, Jan Richardson points to a post by Elizabeth Nordquist at A Musing Amma, a post I head read at the beginning of Holy Week that stood out for me, too (but then Nordquist’s posts often do–there is a sense of shared/like/similar experience that speaks to me most every week; and she is a dear friend of a friend and I have met her IRL, so that’s kind of fun). It’s not about the women per se, but is about the “quotidian events that occupy Jesus all week long.” Here is a bit from the post:

But what I learn from Jesus is that he keeps his heart steadfastly in the Holy One who sent him, in trust that God is working through his open heart, and that the Spirit is giving him whatever resources he needs for the demand of  each day and moment, on the road into town, at the home of a friend, in a garden at the the foot of the Mount of Olives, in a kangaroo court, in the midst of torture and death. With that anchor for his heart and soul, he is faithful to one he calls Abba, to the beloved community and to the world.

So now I’m thinking about things I need to do and things I want to do and how I’m having trouble finding the quiet moments this Holy Week, but I’ve had a good hour here, and now it’s time to move on. I am wondering though, how I end up with Good Friday and Holy Saturday being about an Easter Egg Hunt. Totally not my thing, but have kids, will Easter Egg Hunt. There’s a woman in church for whom this is TOTALLY HER THING and that’s wonderful, truly. I know the kids will enjoy it. I’m just wondering how I ended up being part of the planning and preparation. When I agreed to chair Children’s Nurture as a Session member, I was thinking Church School, not Easter Egg Hunts. So I think my task for today is finding the Holy in making something special for the kids. Maybe we can do a Children’s Stations of the Cross next year a la ElastiGirl? (Guessing not, but one can try.) And the truth is, the Easter Egg Hunt is a Big Deal, and we put flyers in the food bags we distribute on Food Distribution Day, and it’s one of the few events where the immediate neighborhood comes to the church, so it’s a Very Good Thing–even if it’s not my thing.

This entry was posted in About Me, Poetry, Scripture Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the women

  1. Silent says:

    Have you seen “Resurrection Eggs”–each egg in a dozen has a little symbol in that relates to Holy Week? I’ve used that before in conjunction with egg hunts, starting with that before going to look for eggs. There is also a book named Benjamin’s Box that does a similar thing but the items don’t exactly correlate.

    • bookgirl says:

      Nice. I saw those last year, but didn’t yet have a stake in the church thing. I think this year year I will just let the people-who-always-do-this do their thing and watch and learn. Maybe I’ll be able to incorporate something deeper next year. Good idea.

  2. Thanks for the link! I share your queasiness about things that are included in our sacred Easters that aren’t quite sacred. Good to remember that not everything has to be my thing! And I love the idea of the stations of the cross for children. Hmmm. Notes for next year!

  3. I was going to share the same thing about the resurrection eggs. Kevin will be using them for his children’s church Sunday morning.
    I teasingly posted on a friend’s facebook status that I’ve toyed with the idea of teaching my kids the following response:
    people to my kids: “So, what did the Easter bunny bring you?”
    my kids: “Nothing. But Jesus brought us new life!!!”

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

