interconnectdness

This was from a friend of my mom’s when she emailed her about Jerrad’s death. She knew the curly blond baby in Missouri:

Thank you for letting us know and in a way share the loss, even at a distance of years and circumstances.  If even a falling sparrow does not escape God’s attention, I think we who are created in His image are also allowed to feel something of the pain.  Madeleine L’Engle did such a good job in her books of helping us see that no life, anywhere, is lost without universal ramifications.

I just finished L’Engle’s  A Swiftly Tilting Planet and, of course that’s completely the theme of that book, probably my favorite of the “Time trilogy/quartet/quintet.” I love the story/stories and the time travel aspects and all the interconnectedness.

Today is Jerrad’s birthday and yesterday was a month since his death, so I have been thinking about him. Not in a sad way so much as he’s just there, in my consciousness. February 7 has always been his day. I don’t remember most of my cousins’ birthdays (sorry folks). I know them approximately and certainly the months, but not the date. But Jerrad was the first cousin born after me, and it was a long time before the next cousin was born–also a February birthday–and Jerrad’s birthdate I remember. Also, Bubble was due on his birthdate. I though it would be cool if she was born on his birthday, but it turns out we still had 9 days to go.

So. Another week with the kids. Grandma was here for a few hours yesterday. Yay! Grandpa’s coming for about 5 days next week. Computerguy gets the February holidays (we hope–he worked MLK Day) and he’s taking Bubble’s birthday off. It should be a busy and fun next couple of weeks.

I couldn’t decide whether to move on to the Pol(l)y O’Keefe books or switch over to the Austin family books, so I’m taking a break from L’Engle and starting on some of the books recommended by the RevGals. I wasn’t sure where to start, but am diving in with a new mystery series by Roberta Isleib. Seriously, most of those recommendations were mystery series. Works for me.
This entry was posted in About Me, Books, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

