spiritual heritage exercise post 2: people in scripture

Well, the RevGal Friday Five is kind of Rev specific today, so I think I’ll answer a couple more of these Spiritual Heritage questions. But first, a picture of the kids at the library yesterday:

2) The people in scripture with whom you most identify are… because…

It’s funny how identify with is so different than like or admire. The character I have probably always identified with most is Joseph of the Coat of Many Colors. He doesn’t know when to keep his mouth shut and gets into trouble for it. He struggles with his brothers. That’s where I identify with Joseph. What I love about him is the way he strives to do his very best no matter what his circumstances. He rises to the top in Potiphar’s house, in jail, in Egypt by having integrity, working hard, and knowing God is with him. That’s where I can learn from him.

I wish the women of the Bible were a little more multi-dimensional. Just saying. They tend to follow a pretty strong angel/devil binary construct that makes them hard to identify with. Marina Warner writes about this regarding Mary in her book, Alone of All her Sex. The men in the scriptures have faults and virtues. The women tend to have faults or virtues. When I hear that a friend’s 10-year-old is in a single gender Sunday school class learning about the “Women of the Bible” while her little brother is using toy swords to learn Bible verses, I know the church is trying, really trying, but I think it’s misguided. Why shouldn’t both kids be learning about all the people in the Bible? I’ve always loved Ruth and Esther and Deborah, but I don’t identify with them the way I do with Joseph, and I would find their examples a lot harder to live up to. Just thinking out loud…

This entry was posted in About Me, Spiritual heritage. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to spiritual heritage exercise post 2: people in scripture

  1. quackademic says:

    I hear you re: women in the Bible (and I know all about the Proverbs 31 wife but sometimes I want to sleep!) Seriously, though, John McArthur’s “Twelve Extraordinary Women” helped me understand the women in the Bible in more complex and human terms. And only a small part of one chapter ticked me off, which is saying something. 🙂

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

