fave verse friday five

Songbird (RevGalBlogPals) says:
Twenty years ago, I was on a Pastoral Search Committee, and one of the questions we asked the ten candidates we interviewed in the first round was to tell us their three favorite passages of scripture. I loved hearing the variety of verses quoted and even learned some that I didn’t know, such as the last line of one of this week’s lectionary passages:
He has told you, O mortal, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God? (Micah 6:8)
For today’s Friday Five, list your five favorite passages/verses from the Bible and tell us something about why you love them.

 

So here are some of my favorite verses at 7:40 on Friday morning before I read anyone else’s entry and think, “Oh, yeah, there’s that one. I should have included this other one. Oh, how could I have forgotten such and such?” Also, evidently right at this moment all my favorites come from the New Testament. I love the Hebrew Scriptures and at least one of these is a direct quote from the Hebrew Scriptures (and I love the one Songbird quotes, though I can’t hear it without the Maranatha(?) chorus backing it up), but I guess I’m going with Jesus and Paul today. All scriptures quotes are from the NRSV and are thanks to Oremus Bible Browser.
Galatians 3:28: There is no longer Jew or Greek, there is no longer slave or free, there is no longer male and female; for all of you are one in Christ Jesus.
People have spent a lot of time explaining why this verse doesn’t really count (it’s about Salvation–not service in the church. Whatever.). God does not see us with all these distinctions we make so much of. We are all “one in Christ Jesus.” Beautiful.
Galatians 5:22-23: By contrast, the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against such things.
Here’s what we strive for: Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Generosity, Faithfulness, Gentleness, Self-Control. During our Session meeting, our pastor asked us to be looking for God and also looking for these things. Where do we see, where do we enact, Love, Joy, Peace, etc.
Luke 10:27-28: He answered, ‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength, and with all your mind; and your neighbour as yourself.’ And he said to him, ‘You have given the right answer; do this, and you will live.’
I went back and forth between including Mark or Luke, but I went with Luke because Jesus is not the one who gives the answer. The “Lawyer” answers the question, what does the Scripture say? and Jesus confirms the answer. The “Lawyer” knows. He knows what the greatest commandment is. He knows what he is supposed to do. And Jesus confirms it. But he knows. And so do I.
I Corinthians 13:4-7,13: Love is patient; love is kind; love is not envious or boastful or arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice in wrongdoing, but rejoices in the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things… And now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; and the greatest of these is love.
Just in case we’re not sure what Love looks like, here we have a pretty amazing description. And a bonus shout out to Faith, Hope, and Love.
Matthew 5:16: In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father in heaven.
Madeleine L’Engle talks about letting people see the “lovely light of love.” If we are really loving one another, loving our neighbor, loving God, people will want to know about that “lovely light of love.” “Let your light shine” so that it will illumine what is Holy.
This entry was posted in Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to fave verse friday five

  1. Purple says:

    Great list. The Galatian texts rank right up there for me as well.

  2. Jan says:

    “Let your light shine” goes well with one of my choices, too. Thanks for these.

  3. Anne says:

    Ah, let your light shine. One of my dearest friends would quote that too me whenever I held back on anything. Thank you for bringing her to mind!

  4. nyccucc says:

    Matthew 5:16 is part of the text for my installation next week. Love it. Thanks for sharing these.

  5. nyccucc says:

    Sorry, that was Songbird! We are starting a new website through WordPress, so that was a boo-boo…

  6. Sharon says:

    I’d forgotten the Galatians text! (I had to do the same, not read anyone else’s before posting… or I would have gone on forever).
    🙂

  7. just lovely Wendy ~ thank you!
    this is an exercise in Jude 20 me thinks “))

  8. and thank you for your visit to FHC!
    usually too late for anyone to show “)
    so your presence means A LOT !!

  9. singingowl says:

    Yeah, “whatever.” (Made me smile!) And you made me smile again, mentioning that the Malachi 6 verse is accompanied by Marathana Singers. Yep. Same here. After I read Songbird’s post I was singing it all day. Could have been singing much worse, huh?

  10. Brittany says:

    I almost put the Galatians 3:28 on my list too! And Faith, Hope and Love…though I can’t ever look at that verse without hearing Alan Jackson in my head singing his song in response to 9/11. Good list. Thanks for the reminder

  11. angela says:

    Wow, finally found you. It was curious to get to your profile and not find a listing for a blog. But here I am.

    I love the Galatians and thought of the other one too b/c I regularly see it in the bathroom. The fruit of the Spirit–and I think I have a child’s book about it that my daughter is not quite ready to read.

    And I like the ‘lovely light of love’ as well. And see, we don’t quote her chapter and verse and yet she expresses something as well as any of those epistles…yet we give no credit to modern apostles….oh, just a little bugaboo.

  12. Gord says:

    some (many) of these would be on a longer list of mine too

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

