poetry workshop

The church wrote and received a Worship Renewal Grant this year that has led to art workshops: drawing, clay, poetry, textiles, and music. Yesterday was poetry. We sat at tables with other people, followed prompts, and wrote poetry. But. Um. Excuse me. I’m the one who gives poetry writing assignments–not the one who does them. It was surprisingly uncomfortable for me. Computerguy was writing cute, fun poetry and getting a big kick out of the whole thing. He even went in front of the room and read one of his poems out loud (Really!). And I think it got the most comments of the day (and today, too.) And I was sitting there mumbling “I have a Ph.D. in English. I study the best poetry ever written. That’s what I do. I can’t just…” It’s not how I write poetry. Just look and write. I work and scribble and cross out and force my thoughts into formal structures and work out what I need to say by doing so. “This isn’t my best poetry…I have something better…Don’t read this.”

Relax, Bookgirl. Just relax.

This entry was posted in Church. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to poetry workshop

  1. Terri says:

    Weird, isn’t it, when spontaneity pushes back at us, challenging our sense of profession…sigh…well, at least it sounds like some folks had a lot of fun!

  2. Leslie says:

    This reminds me of the time Jeopardy was doing regional testing near the town I grew up in a few years ago. It sounded like so much fun and I actually considered doing it…for about 30 seconds. Then the realization that I would never, ever go on Jeopardy hit me. I would be too terrified that the Final Jeopardy category would be “Literature,” or worse “Modernist Literature,” and I wouldn’t know the answer. The idea of being outed in our own fields is terrifying, especially after we’ve spent decades studying and writing. Kudos to you for going to the workshop in the first place. I would have been huddled under the bed, covered in hives.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

