ibook vs. kindle (or what i’m (not) reading)

Now that I can read for pleasure and edification, I thought I would keep track of the books I read this year, but so far it’s slow going.

Right now, I’m in the middle of Laurie R. King’s Keeping Watch. I read Folly at the end of last year (Thanks, Muthah+) and was intrigued by the Allen Carmichael character, so when I saw he had his own book, I had it sent to me through the air to my Kindle app. More on that in a bit.

I also have going, Adam J. Copeland’s (A Wee Blether) scholarly paper on churches, pastors, and social media. It’s well-written and not too academic (this is a good thing. I can follow it. If I call something too academic, it means only someone who studies that minuscule and particular field in depth can understand it. Read Carol Howard Merritt’s blog post (If Only You Were More Educated) at Tribal Church about the culture of scholarship.) Anyway…I’ll finish the paper the next time I have a chance to sit quietly (which could have been now, but I took a couple minutes to write instead.) Finished it. It’s a review of some current policies with the suggestion that churches will be writing more and more of these. It would make an interesting discussion, but does not push to that point (which was not its context.)

I’m also re-reading through the Anne of Green Gables books, as I do every year or so. I’m on number 4 right now, Anne of Windy Poplars. It’s probably the slowest of the books and I find I’m skipping long bits, but the first time I read it I was student teaching (or it was my first year–either way it worked) and I was somehow comforted by Anne’s troubles with the Pringles. I always think of the book fondly because of that, though the surrounding books (3 and 5) are probably my favorites. Windy Poplars was actually written later and is not out of US copyright protection. Just a bit of trivia.

I’m very slowly working my way through Anam Cara by John O’Donohue. Here’s my confession: I have been listening to back episodes of Being (aka Speaking of Faith) with Krista Tippett and heard the interview with O’Donohue. I thought the book was poetry. I was wrong.

And, of course, any number of picture books. I read a lot more of those. Library family story time is Thursdays, so I think we’ll try to start making that a weekly outing and check new books out of the library for Bubble. We can’t buy all of them.

Back to my title. I have iBook, Kindle, and Nook all installed on my iPad (I named it Kreacher). I haven’t actually tried the Nook app yet, but of the other 2 I far prefer iBooks. I buy on Kindle only when Apple doesn’t have the book. My biggest issue with the Kindle is that lack of page numbers. I can see that I am 54% through Keeping Watch, but I don’t know what that means. 54% of what? Just how big is this book? It also just has a more electronic feel to it and it is harder to highlight. When I was reading poetry on it, I couldn’t highlight individual lines, only whole stanzas. The big advantage I’ve found to Kindle is that it has a back button and links from notes, so if I want to look at endnotes as I go, I can click on the number and then on the back button to get back to my spot. With iBooks, I was having to use bookmarks to do the same thing which was too bothersome. This is only relevant for books for edification.

I love the ease of making notes in a book on both apps and finding the highlights and notes later. I do miss being able to flip through a book to find something.

I’m using GoodReader for my PDFs. If anyone has a better app, let me know. It seems to work okay, but it’s not particularly intuitive. I’ve only started figuring out how to organize my files and such. I also use iBooks to read book-length PDFs, which is okay. I honestly prefer Preview on the computer.

So, I read in patches and I keep up with a lot of blogs which takes away novel time, but is easier to do in-between kid things. I don’t know. I need a rhythm for my days. I’ll get there.

This entry was posted in About Me, Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

