a new year

It seems like I ought to post something for the new year, so I think I’ll run with yesterday’s RevGalBlogPal Friday Five since I never got to it yesterday. SingingOwl says:

I’m not a big fan of New Year’s resolutions, but it does seem a good time for some reflection and planning. For the last few days I keep thinking of Psalm 90:12 So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom. Among other things, that seems to say that reflection is in order if we want to learn and grow.

For some of us, this has been an incredibly difficult year; for others it has been a year of many joys. For all of us, there have been challenges and questions and there have been blessings and–maybe even an answer or two! As we say our goodbyes to 2010 and look towards 2011, share with us five blessings from 2010 along with five hopes or dreams for 2011.

5 Blessings from 2010:
1) I finished my Ph.D. There it is, really.
2) My family, all of them, but especially my dad who has spent the last 2+ years making it possible for me to finish the Ph.D. and also showing how much his grandchildren mean to him. I’ve also gotten to enjoy his interactions with Computerguy and to spend time with him in a new part of my life. He thinks he has paid more attention to my children than he did to me, and that is probably true for these earliest years, but for better or worse (and it’s been by and large by a great percentage for better) my dad has always been a present figure in various aspects of my life. For 9 of my 13 years of mandatory education (all but k-3), he taught at the schools I attended. My 8 years of teaching high school, we taught at the same school. Now, he’s spent the past 2 years sharing his time back and forth between home and our home, probably with more here than there. I’m glad he plans to continue to come over for a few days each month. I’ll be grateful for the break and the help, and I love having him be close to my kids and spending time with him when he’s not busy with home responsibilities.
3) I could just say the church, but I’ll be specific and mention the Believing and Belonging class. It’s all folks who joined in 2009 and we have spent more or less every other Sunday night since Easter 2010 meeting, eating, and learning. It’s a great group and we’ve been building strong relationships with people as well as deepening our spiritual understandings.
4) Continued relationships with old friends and slowly forging relationships with new ones.
5) Discipline: spiritual (getting back on track with the communal side and deepening of my individual understanding of the Holy One), mental (buckling down and writing those chapters), and physical (eating right and exercising.)

5 hopes for 2011:
1) That I will find a way to use my Ph.D. or at least satisfy my longing to be doing something.
2) That I will have the grace to be a good full-time parent to my kids.
3) That I will continue to find and deepen relationships in the church community and that my time serving on Session will be grace-filled.
4) Being intentional about relationships, especially some that I have missed in the busy-ness of everyone’s schedules (breakfast yesterday with a friend I hadn’t sat down with since before Bubble was born was a good reminder.)
5) That I will find a way to continue to be disciplined without the extra time Granddaddy Nanny’s presence gave me.

This entry was posted in About Me, Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a new year

  1. Terri says:

    Blessings for 2011, may it be gracious in all ways.

  2. singingowl says:

    How wonderful that your dad is part of your kid’s lives…and that this is a good thing! Praying for direction for you, and doors of opportunity. Thanks for playing!

  3. Jan says:

    I’m glad we both like books. Blessings in this new year.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

