revgalblogpal friday five: december survival edition

Brought to us by kathrynzj this week:

Whether a RevGal or a Pal most of us in this cyber community have enhanced responsibilities during this time of year. We also have traditions – religious and secular – that mark the season for us in a more personal way.

For this Friday Five please let us know five of the things that mark the season for you.
And the bonus? Tell us one thing that does absolutely nothing for you.
It’s hard to limit this to 5, but I’ll try. And I think I’ll try to keep it short, too.
1) Advent. Lighting candles at the church, opening the doors of the house calendar at home, anticipating, waiting.
2) Christmas Media. Songs of course, but also books, stories, films, television specials, Christmas episodes of television shows (though frustrated that those have moved into the all Santa all the time category).
3) Gingerbread!
4) Christmas Eve. Fancy dinner out, church, and driving around to see lights.
5) Christmas cards with family pictures and long, newsy updates on the year (even with facebook giving us this news all year long.)
Bonus: This is pretty awful, but I just can’t get into giving charitable contributions in lieu of Christmas gifts. This probably works when everyone has discussed it and agreed upon it, or when it is truly done thoughtfully, but not when it’s a “here’s my year-end-tax-break-contribution to my charity, I hope you like it.”
This entry was posted in Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to revgalblogpal friday five: december survival edition

  1. sally says:

    We don’t get tax breaks on charitable giving over in the UK, but you make a good case to the charitable giving thing. As for newsy cards, yup, just love them.

  2. I haven’t seen much of the newer tv shows but this year I bought some used dvds of old sitcom Christmas episodes and have been having fun watching them. And you know, I have to agree on the charitable gift thing, unless it’s what the person asks for. I have no problem with a well-thought-out but inexpensive or handmade gift or even one that came from the Goodwill store, and if the money saved goes to charity, so much the better.

  3. singingowl says:

    I think charitable giving in someone else’s name…well…I’m all for charitable giving but I think I’d feel like you do. I like the idea of at least finding out what YOUR choice would be!

  4. Jan says:

    Our family almost went into this charity giving this year, but chose instead to limit amount spent. We may move into the other someday. I think having the recipient choose the charity is a much better idea. AND I am so glad you also like Christmas card/letters!

  5. Joolie says:

    love your courage and forthrightness.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

