waiting

So…I haven’t had the energy (or uninterrupted time) to write much of anything, but I thought an update was in order.

I’m waiting for my third signature on my dissertation. Depending on whether I have to make changes or she just signs off, this could happen this week or next. It’s actually starting to feel real.

And then I do what? I have nothing lined up right now except these two children lounging on couches watching a certain mouse. And right now, I guess that’s part of the journey. I enjoy this thing and wait to see what happens next.

We continue to wait with my cousin. Yesterday he was released from the hospital into hospice care. His dad has rented a big beach house for him and his family/friends. One of my Vermont cousins comes in Friday, so we’ll probably head down to visit this weekend (if the kids are healthy; we’ve been dealing with mysterious, symptomless fevers.)

Bubble is waiting for December 1st. It’s funny to start Advent in church in November, but her Advent House/Calendar doesn’t start until December.

Hope is my theme this week. I usually like the gospel readings in the lectionary passages, but this week (and last, too) I’m vastly preferring anything else. Here’s what caught me this morning:

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit” (Romans 15:13 NRSV).

This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to waiting

  1. quackademic says:

    I want to say something but I don’t know what, except that I am feeling for you at this exciting/anticipatory and bittersweet time.

  2. Leslie Batty says:

    Congratulations on finishing the dissertation, Wendy. Pause for a minute and reflect on what an enormous accomplishment this is. And try incorporating some resting into the waiting, as dissertating (in my experience) is a grinding and depleting experience.

  3. Dad says:

    A few months ago one of our guest preachers used Romans 15:13 and it really struck me so I added it to my repertoire of verses (5 little groups right now) the I say to go to sleep – and when I wake up the next time I know where I left off and I can keep right on going. When a verse is memorized it’s like wireless.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

