advent

Advent 2009

Advent 2008

Does anyone know any good Advent CDs?

I love Advent. I always have, from the time I was a kid and my brother and I took turns opening the little doors on the paper Advent calendar. Of course, it was always just the countdown to Christmas for me, and not a season unto itself, but still, I loved the anticipation, and isn’t that what it’s really about?

From reading Madeleine L’Engle who loved the liturgical year, I did eventually figure out that Advent was anticipation of both the first and second coming of the Christ. But I have’t really done much with that.

Anyway, I’ve had fun with the countdown aspects of Advent with Bubble. In 2007, I found an Advent house at a warehouse store and picked it up. Since Bubble was only ten months, I filled it with candy and let Computerguy open the doors. He’d never done the Advent thing as a kid, so we had fun with that. In 2008 and 2009, Bubble would open the door and find a chocolate candy for each person (except the baby last year). She would deliver the chocolates all around and then savor her own. It was really cute. She also received one or two pieces of her Fisher Price nativity set each day.

This year I want to go a little further. I could do an Advent wreath and have a weekly kind of devotional, but I’m thinking a Jesse Tree might be more fun for the kids. We can do the wreath when they’re older. We could have a story and put on an ornament each evening before opening the door on the Advent house. So now I have to decide what to do. I may take the kids to the craft store today and see if we can come up with anything. I’m still thinking. If anyone has any suggestions, I’d be glad to hear them.

 

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to advent

  1. did you end up doing a Jesse tree? I’m wanting to one but this year just did a small tree with a few ornaments that we already had depicting a Bible story. Let me know.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

