friday five: unexpected thanks

This one comes from Jan at the RevGalBlogPals:

With the American holiday of Thanksgiving being less than a week away, I tried to think of some questions for Friday Five that could be connected to this, but in a new way. So here is my one try:

Name five things that were unexpected in your life that you are now grateful for.

I’m afraid this is going to be a retread of some of my themes, but it is what it is.

#1 Computerguy. That was unexpected. I had moved 2000 miles away and started a new life in graduate school. I came home for the summer and met a friend of a friend I had only heard about for years. Suddenly I was scrambling to apply to Ph.D. programs back in California (he had a house and a steady job–it wouldn’t have made sense for him to move) so I could transfer when I finished the MA.

#2,#3 Bubble and Squeak. Once I was married, I expected to have children, but I was 33 when I got married. I was ready, willing, and able to be a single college professor and the world’s best surrogate auntie to friends’ children. (This, I found, was harder to do once I had children of my own. It makes me kind of sad, how much those other relationships have changed because I can’t just drop everything and be there. There is freedom in singlehood/no children, a freedom that, without any regrets about the choices I’ve made, I sometimes miss. We are finding new ways to connect, though.) Anyway…I really didn’t expect to have children, and it still kind of amazes and awes me that these two little people are here.

#4 Since the movie just came out and we have tickets for tomorrow, I’m going with Harry Potter on this one. Who thought I would find so much delight, and shared delight at that, as a grown-up, in a brand-new series of books. There have been midnight bookstore parties and movie showings (though not anymore–too old for that), reading at Denny’s with young friends, talking about the books with friends from all walks of life, reading out loud with Computerguy, video parties, watching people go wild for BOOKS! It’s great, but totally unexpected. (I didn’t really try to get my husband to agree to Hermione as a name for our daughter, though I could have done it for both the Shakespearean and the HP connections and because I love the name, but, as I read the last book, I was totally surprised to discover that our five-month-old shared a first name with Dumbledore’s mother.)

#5 The opportunity to be in church leadership in a new time and a new place. In January, I’ll be ordained as an elder in the Presbyterian Church (USA) and begin a term on (the?) Session. We’ve been attending the church a little over two years, have been members for one year later this month, and just had our children baptized (I would have felt awkward about this if we hadn’t felt we could do that since part of ordination is affirming the theology of the church). I still don’t know everything I think I should know (though, to be honest, I probably know more than a lot of people just because I am an eager learner), but events (HS?) conspired to bring this to pass, the church is finding its way in a rough spot, and some new blood that didn’t grow up in the tradition (with the traditions?) but believes strongly in the tradition (but maybe not all the traditions) is probably not a bad thing. So there we have it.

This entry was posted in Friday Five. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to friday five: unexpected thanks

  1. Jan says:

    I adore Harry Potter–just as much or more than my four children, who are adults now. So glad you are an enthusiast, too. Greatly unexpected events in your life–Yay for those two wonderful kiddos.

  2. mompriest says:

    getting to this late, convention and other stuff….good play. Definitely always a gift, our life partners and children…and, I haven’t seen Harry Potter, but will whenever I have the opportunity.

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

