correction

When I ask Bubble to stop something, she may or may not and I may need to take further steps, but she doesn’t take the correction personally. When I tell Squeak to stop something, that little lip goes out and those little eyes tear up, and he stops, but I feel wretched. And I know precisely how he feels, because that’s how I feel, too. I’m trying not to see every question or suggestion as criticism because it makes people afraid to say anything to me, but it’s very hard. So how do I teach my son that just because I need him to stop pulling my hair, doesn’t mean I don’t think he is anything but good, a child of God, made in the image of God? How do I teach myself that?

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to correction

  1. mompriest says:

    that is a hard one….I often feel that way too, interpreting something said to me through a harsh crictical lens when that may not be the intention of the person saying it…how to move past that? How to become more trusting of our inherent goodness which doesn’t mean we become arrogant but instead graceful and grace-filled? It’s a trust thing. and a love thing. right? knowing that we are loved just as we are even as we are called to be the best person we can be?

    maybe as you show this to your son and teach him this you will internalize it too?

Thoughts, Questions, Comments?

